Composition Diary🎵 / finishing my composition

in #music4 years ago

I can't believe that I've just completed everything that I was required to do for this camp. I finally finished my composition (actually, I had to finish because the due was yesterday 😂). In my last post, I wrote that I got stuck in one measure. After posting that, I could finally come up with something that would both satisfy me and create that transition effect. Getting over that measure definitely sped things up because I already knew what I was going to do after that measure.

Yesterday, I spent the whole day editing my musical score of the piece. I estimated that it wouldn't take too much time, but I didn't know how some small details could require hours of research and editing. Maybe, it would take much shorter to complete if I was an experienced score writer. However, I hardly ever notate my scores because usually, I am the only one who is playing them. Moreover, I don't participate in any of the competitions, which means I had no valid reason to notate my scores before.

image.png

The funniest part was that till 2 hours before due time, I still didn't have a name for my piece, because of which I was freaking out a bit 😅 I know it sounds silly that working on a composition for such a long time and not having a name for it, but I can say that if I was good with words, I wouldn't be writing instrumental pieces I guess 😄 It is hard for me to put a single title on a piece because I often feel that the composition itself always transcends its title, therefore, a title will never truly describe your piece. Moreover, every listener will have their own images, feelings and thoughts about the piece, which makes the decision of a title even more problematic.

Half an hour before the due time, I could finally decide to name the piece "Wanderer". I always knew that the piece was telling a story of a journey, but I didn't know how I would frame this journey. After listening to the piece over and over, I felt that it was the story of a "wanderer" who wanders through different places without any purpose. Soon I realized that it was actually the story of me. I remembered all the times that I wandered alone last year through Azerbaijan, Georgia and Balkans. I was changing cities and countries, meeting people and having adventures without any plan. This was very parallel with the structure, texture and rhythm of my piece.

image.png

I also made this cover to my piece. I took this photo last year when I was solo traveling in Georgia (I took the photo at Narikala Fortress in Tbilisi). I think the fact that I added something from the actual story to the score significantly makes the meaning of the whole music more powerful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.10
ETH 3209.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49