Rediscovering a classic - my "Last Christmas" acoustic cover

in #music6 years ago

Yay, it's christmas season again! And with it comes the unavoidable "Last Christmas", blasting out of every radio and every shop. This is my own take on Wham!'s famous Christmas Classic - a slower, more pensive acoustic version.

A few years ago, as I paid attention to the song's lyrics for the first time, I thought that the music really doesn't do them justice. The songs itself conveys a happy, christmas-y vibe, while the lyrics are actually quite sad.

So I sat down with my boyfriend and we came up with an acoustic cover version of Last Christmas, which we uploaded on our youtube channel. It is our most viewed video to date and we were so happy when it reached over 100.000 views last year! It already got played on a few german radio stations, too.

But in my opinion, the absolute best feedback is when people tell us they usually hate the song, but our version made them like it again. This was exactly what I was hoping for when we recorded the cover, and it makes me very happy and proud :)

I hope you enjoy it as well and have a wonderful christmas season!

Sort:  

I really like this version :) It was great fun creating this!

Ohhh just noticed this as I was about to leave, I assume you're playing the guitar accompaniment and if so you also have some skills there buddy - I wouldn't be doing my part for the community if I didn't invite you to join us at Open Mic as well, we have lots of musicians and instrumentalists that would welcome you onboard.

Thanks for sharing your lovely music with us, it's much appreciated - Cheers :D

Wow this was a stunning adaptation to an old classic, I love the softer style you chose here - and those subtle highs slipped in for a beautiful effect!

Like @choogirl said I am a judge for the Open Mic contest and also the Open Mic Songwriters Challenge, Choo left the best links for info on how to join in.

If you're a writer you should consider jumping in on the songwriter's challenge, were week two of an eight week challenge and the prize is a $599 USD guitar!

Open Mic also has over 300 steem that goes towards the winning entries selected each week, we also reward original songs each week as well.

But the best part of joining Open Mic isn't the chance to win money or a prize, it's access to an amazing community - they do so much to support one another each and every week, we have so many collaborations and they just work to help out other musicians.

As I said I really enjoyed your performance, good luck on your steemit journey and hope to see you drop by Open Mic sometime if you get a chance!

This is really good. You have a great voice. You should enter the open mic competition on steemit.

Thank you! I don't know what that is, where can I find it? :D

Hey there my lovely choo, thanks for tagging me so I got to hear this beautiful rendition of a personal favourite.

She should absolutely consider entering the Open Mic contest, with a voice like that she is bound to make some waves in our music community!

You're welcome! Thanks for coming over. I love her version of this song too.

Thank you both! :) I'll definitely record a video for the contest soon!

Thank you very much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99