Earthquake - an original song by me, feat. Disco Violin

in #music7 years ago

This is an original song from my singer-songwriter youtube channel 'Rophelia'. Eartquake is a song about being crestfallen when you realize that a person who you trusted and held in high esteem isn't quite who you thought they were. It's about being blinded by your own feelings, and being shattered by the realization that you were wrong about someone who once meant a lot to you.

I usually already have a melody in my head while writing, but since I don't play any instrument, most of the time I just sing it to my boyfriend and he comes up with some chords, and then we start working on the musical arrangement together. He usually composes and plays all of the instruments for our productions himself. For 'Earthquake', we also worked together with Olga, a good friend of ours, who is a violinist.

We shot the video mid-november, so it was freezing cold and Olga almost couldn't feel her fingers anymore while playing the violin. Luckily, we had my mom with us on set, who was providing us with hot tea and biscuits whenever we took a break ;)

I hope you enjoy the video, and for those of you who are interested, I also put the lyrics down below:

I was fragile
Like a house of cards
Temporarily pretty
But not built to last
You were like a hurricane
You tore down every part of me
You scattered all my cards with the wind
I could not win

You were like an earthquake
And as matter of fact
You moved me and I can never go back
These cracks left open
Scarred and broken
And I can never go back
Never go back

I was burning
Like a falling star
For you to see me
But I didn’t get far
I was like an alien
Dying in your atmosphere
You never believed that I existed
anyway

I liked to pretend that
You were a friend and
I should have known that this wasn’t true
I was a girl too in love to see through
I never meant anything at all to you

You were like an earthquake
And as matter of fact
You moved me and I can never go back
These cracks left open
Scarred and broken
And I can never go back
Never go back

Sort:  

Wow great song and video! it looks so professional :O!!!! I like how the harp cords move

Thank you so much! :)

Beautiful song @seelikeme, and nice video. Your friends are very talented as well.

Thank you so much! :)

That was very good @seelikeme i really did feel you. your words are meaningful and that they are important to you is tangible in the video. Great job to you and all that made it happen!
i say all that...but i dont think this is your The Butt Badge yet.
it is a judgement call... i sense more... so will wait. this post was effortless. not in that it wasnt work to make it...but in that it was already accomplished. I think ill hold out for a fresher cut... my gut tells me i wont be waiting long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54657.34
ETH 2331.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14