NOT A CHRISTMAS SONG

in #music6 years ago

So Christmas is 10 days away, and I've been feeling the Christmas spirit for a few weeks now, as it is my favorite holiday. The thing that really puts me in the Christmas mood? well.... Christmas lights....but also! CHRISTMAS MUSIC.

you must understand... when it comes to Christmas music...

I am picky

Maybe once every 5-10 years can a new Christmas song come along, and actually be good. Covers are fine and dandy though. To me a Christmas song should fit at least one of three criteria...

-It's about Christmas/Santa
-It's about Winter/Snow
-It's about baby Jesus

In recent years there has been a complete blasphemy to these guidelines that has plagued Christmas airwaves.

I guarantee Santa, Baby Jesus, and Frosty the Snowman all puke in their mouths when they hear it.

Leanord Cohen's "Hallelujah" Covered by thousands of artists...

Lets be real tho...

You all know it from SHREK

shrek cohen.png

Lets check the guidelines?!?!

Santa
Christmas
Jesus
Snow
Winter

NOTHING RELEVANT

Some may give it a pass because it is about king David from the Bible.
I DON'T
It is LOOSELY based on a biblical story, and not even one concerning Jesus whatsoever. This song in no way has any relevance to Christmas, the holdiay season, OR the Wiccan traditions we participate in to celebrate a Christian holdiay! NONE OF IT!

STAHP THIS MADNESS

/ Ban Hallelujah

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

You got a 0.20% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jout!

Christmas is indeed one of the greatest holidays and its my favorite as well. I like Christmas songs a lot, also the metal versions of them. You are totally right though, at least a Christmas song should be about Christmas or winter or snow, if not it shouldnt be called a Christmas song IMHO.

Look no further, man. I've got the perfect Christmas song for you right here. Enjoy!

Also, hail to our lord and savior, Shrek!

all these are better relevant Christmas songs

Yeah, I just wanted an excuse to share that DMX song. I'm glad it's devolved into random weird X-mas songs that aren't Shrek related.

But, can you beat this? (Seriously, this has almost 150k views. Fuck my life.)

580K views...

Lmao. This looks like something that would have been on Tim and Eric. This is making me think that maybe I'll just skip Christmas this year. Christ.

The devolution of this thread has been immaculate. Thank you friend

This dude legit looks and sounds like a human version of Grendel from that Beowulf movie. I'm sure he's excited for Christmas since it makes it easier for him to abduct children to feed upon all winter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99