Ronny Jordan -- One of the Creators of Acid Jazz

in #music7 years ago (edited)

A Steemit debut, for the first time in written form, my interview with the great Ronny Jordan.

bf title interview.jpg

In January of 2013 I had the privilege of interviewing Ronny Jordan, one of my favorite recording artists. That's not unusual for me, because I only interview musicians who impress or move me, or both. In the case of Ronny Jordan, it wasn't just his playing that I admired, he was one of those artists who never disappointed with his releases. He was someone whom I genuinely wanted to thank for all the hours of listening pleasure he had given me. I'm so grateful that I had that opportunity, because a year later, in January of 2014, he died unexpectedly at the age of 51.

For posterity I've wanted to transcribe this interview, and I'm so grateful to @sndbox for giving me the freedom to undertake something like this. Although we may not yet have enough jazz fans on the platform to warrant the publication of this interview, it is good to know that this bit of musical history will be preserved in the blockchain for the future. It is available on my site in audio form, but the article linking to it from AllAboutJazz was lost, perhaps when switching servers.

Introduction

(from my site)
Ronny Jordan is a winner of Gibson Guitar’s award for Best Jazz Guitarist, he’s been nominated for a Grammy, and is a jazz artist who has made it to the pop charts. He’s known as one of the earliest and most successful jazz artists to draw upon the energy and vitality of hip hop. His music is perhaps best described as Urban Jazz, a blend of jazz, hip hop,and R&B — but certainly not limited to that.

His message is positive and spiritually uplifting, his grooves are addictive, and his playing is ingenious. He is completely self-taught, and in addition to his musicianship, he is an accomplished producer, arranger, and composer. He uses the studio as creatively as possible, and on his latest album he introduces his fans to midi guitar — doing string, keyboard, and bass parts on a midi guitar.

Ronny was born and raised in London, the son of a Pentecostal preacher with a very interesting life story which he shared in this interview. This wide-ranging interview took place in late January of 2013, Ronny talks about the awakening of his talent, his early career, his big break with Island Records, and his recordings. Gifted, creative, and humble — he is all-about-the-music.

Ronny landed a recording contract with Island Records, a major label that had artists like Bob Marley. Thanks to the label, we got to see a jazz artist with a music video like this.

Interview

Alan Bryson: Hi Ronny, how are you?

Ronny Jordan: Alan! I'm fine. Thanks for calling and how are you?

Alan Bryson: Oh I'm doing fine, and I wanted to say thanks for taking time out to talk with us today. I really appreciate it.

Ronny Jordan: Look, I should thank you for considering me with all the many artists who are out there, I appreciate it.

Alan Bryson: Oh no Ronny, I wanted to say for myself and on behalf of a lot of fans, thanks for all the hours and hours of pleasure that your music has given me and others. And I really appreciate all the hard work and dedication that went into making that music.

Ronny Jordan: Well you know, honestly, I don't take credit for that. I give all credit to the Almighty, the Creator, because without Him we're nothing. And so, I can't thank you enough for the appreciation, it's just that I think it behooves us as artists to keep the temple pure so that we can continually get inspiration.

Once we start thinking that it's just us – that we came up with all the inspiration and the ideas, that's when it starts getting self indulgent, and you won't be feeling what I'm doing. So I tend to give all praise and credit to the Most High.
bfScreenshot2017-11-0611.41.08.jpgAlan Bryson: I think that's kind of a, not a very common thing, but you certainly encounter that with a lot of musicians, going from people like John Coltrane all the way to people like Carlos Santana – they see themselves kind of like a vessel.

Ronny Jordan: Absolutely, no question about that. You know, I could not have done that all by myself. So this is why it behooves us to keep all the egos out of it. When I think about it, it didn't start with me, it started with the Most High, and He chose me to share this gift with you. And that's just how I always look at it, and how I always will.

Alan Bryson: It pays off to look at it that way, because when you look at it that way, you're all about the music.

Ronny Jordan: Absolutely, I'm just all about the music, and sharing it. Everywhere I go to perform there is always someone who's touched, and I love that! That's what I'm here for. I don't look at it as if it's all for me, no.


Thanks for stopping by! This way to part 2 of the interview



Photos are Vimeo screen captures with effects by @roused

follow_roused.gif

--------Having trouble reading? Click (R) on image to view in full screen---------
Sort:  

Danke für die Vorstellung und den Interview-Ausschnitt!

Ronny Jordan - ein Künstler, den ich noch nicht gekannt habe. Seine Musik ist cool, gefällt mir!

Thanks Vieanna! Super grooves, late night candlelight music. More to come :-)

The jazzos are here, friend :)
You are very fortunate to have made contact with this legend!

Cool to have you on the platform dokkodo! Yes, Ronny was an extraordinary player and person indeed.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 13.14 % upvote from @bellyrub. Please make sure to vote for my pops as a witness @zeartul,Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65200.45
ETH 3535.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45