Rona's song review - Barefoot - 5ths

in #music6 years ago (edited)

image.png

It is not easy to be an independent musician. You reach the age of 20, after you have played and written and invested all your energy and soul, and you want people to listen, so you continue to invest your life, your time and your energy and your money and you release your music and you do a gig in a dirty bar, And your mother is comeing And choks on the smell of the cigarettes, and another gig, and another ... and suddenly you are thirty. There are 10 people who know all the lyrics of your songs, but ... this is not exactly what you had in mind when you took a guitar in your hands for the first time, and life begins to squeeze you with all sorts of things like utility rate and an apartment, and your girl, who does not necessarily understand that you can not do it Differently, And maybe you also want children, and how do we do all this and remain independent musicians?
Today I want to introduce you to Barefoot, who do that, and their new song - 5ths

Barefoot wants to remind you how to dream. "All your adult life you pursue goals that only prevent you
from fulfilling everything you dreamed when you were kids and you dared to dream." so they say.
They want to do that with music that is exciting and aggressive, honest but not pretentious because it is important to them that you will listen to what they have to say.
They are five musicians who are 30+ years old who forcefully chop the boundaries of pop and progressive rock, and by means of rhythms, melodies and the exact lyrics they crush the conventions of the genre by which they can define and express themselves in an sincere and special way.

image.png
(Image - Liron Erel)
so what's the story with this song?
Yam Barak, the band's lead singer, shares: "Almost two years ago, my wife got up and left me without explanation. for almost a year I was pretty much nothing, drunk and stoned and unwilling to do anything or live. Then I released a Solo EP.
This EP (which is name is an anagram to her name) was my turning point,
For a week I sat at home and puked all of it - I wrote, recorded & mixed and released it from my self and then I remembered that I want to live. Like the EP, this song of the band, even though it talks about the loss of inspiration, is perfectly translated to a brakeup. This brakeup. The video clip recreates the scene when I sat at home and watched her packing her suitcase. The dancer in the clip is a dancer in the ansamble that my ex-wife danced in, and it was filmed just outside the studio of that ansamble"
And you can hear it. The bare nerve. The pain. Something that does not slide lightly in your throat, but charms you. Captivating your attention. And you're with them ... and that is why I love this song. Focused sadness. Maybe it heals.
Barefoot released two singles from the first EP scheduled to be released at the end of this summer. They did not have millions of views on YouTube, they do not have dozens of requests from record companies or thousands of loyal fans who visit every show and have not toured abroad.
But they dare to dream, do you?

5ths / Yam Barak
Don’t just run away
Could have swore i tied you
Thought it'll make you stay
As these words just echo in an empty room
Exhausted and fearing
Life ain't so new
Maybe I am binded to the struggle
Continue without you
Some say you are the structure
That made us so bleak
Wild and rare are circumstances
And i thought I’m unique
Other say you'll strike us
So destruction is a gift?
My sight ain't meant for steering
Empty thoughts just take the leap
Indulge yourself away
It wouldn’t make things better
Screaming out through the window
On the uppermost floor
Would offer you no say
Can’t fight through these feelings
I have been true to my side of creation
This one depend on you
Bleed the tension that you fear the most
Say the words that often come as worst
And fuck them for they are all pretending
They are mine and i alone pretend to be
Binded, bruised- you see me as you are
Who is undeserving to be bound?
Know my friend you are the one that can't contain
Echo on the limits of your brain
I let you think you tied me
I let you think I care
Thought my wings would tame me
Well- they would rather fly me away

image.png
(Image - Liron Erel)

Barefoot
Singer - Yam barak
Guitar & vocales - Ishai Ben Rafael Hirschler
Guitar - Yaron Shirazy
Bass - Aviad Erlich
Drums - Gal Varburg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95