You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unpopular opinion: Knowing how to read music is not that important.

in #music6 years ago

I completely agree! Although I do know (or used to in school) how to read music, most musicians I know do not know how to. And I've known some amazing musicians in my life so far. I also believe that it just depends on the type of instrument you plan to play and in what career you plan to play it.

For instance, orchestra musicians more than likely need to know how, but one's who write their own music do so by ear and music theory. You understand what notes and chords go with what and go from there.

On the other hand, more knowledge in something never hurt anything... But I really think that it shouldn't be the first and most important thing that teachers should focus on. Great post dude!

Sort:  

Yep you nailed it! Well said!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57972.96
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36