"Yule Ball @ The Longview Public Library (With Playlist)" by Richard F. Yates

in #music6 years ago

Howdy folks! Last night was the Yule Ball at the local library (in my home town---Longview, Washington, U.S.A.), and I was asked to DJ. I really enjoy playing music at these types of events because I get a kick out of watching little kids dance, and we did have a few dancers hit the floor, but not as many as we've had at some gigs. That's okay, though, because most of the folks in attendance seemed to have a good time, anyway.

The event was Harry Potter themed, and the organizers had a bunch of stuff for folks to do (besides just dancing.) They had crafts rooms, where people could make wands and snitches and such, and there were snacks, like cookies and butter beer.

One of the cool things about the Longview Public Library, on the lower floor they have a display area, called The Koth Gallery, where local artists can show work. They have paintings or photography or print making displays all the time, which I think is pretty cool. This time, there was a group show by a bunch of quilters, many of the pieces with holiday themes. I'm a fan of quilts, anyway, but these were especially good!

I probably should have done a full post on these cool pieces of art, but I only had a few minutes to snap some pics before I had to set up my gear and start playing tunes...

Speaking of setting up gear, I WAS able to find a helper and a dolly, so I didn't have to pack the speakers myself (which is good because, as I mentioned in a post yesterday, I threw my crummy back out fighting with a tumble dryer the day before.) Thanks Adam!!! And, my older daughter (Frankie) and her husband (Alec), who are both huge Harry Potter fans, came to the event, they made some wands and had a good time, and they were willing to help me tear down and pack everything out when it was all over! Thanks Frankie and Alec!!!

[That's me in my purple wizard outfit, by the way...]

So here's what you folks are probably all asking yourself: "What did you play???" (One of the librarians who was stuck downstairs asked me this as I was packing gear out.) I stuck with three primary themes: Christmas music, Harry Potter, and magic. Here's the final playlist...

---John Williams - "Prologue to Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"
---John Williams - "Christmas at Hogwarts"
---fun. - "Sleigh Ride"
---Bill Haley & His Comets - "Jingle Bell Rock"
---Gary Glitter - "Another Rock and Roll Christmas"
---Queen - "A Kind of Magic"
---Kurtis Blow - "Christmas Rappin'"
---"Weird" Al Yankovic - "Christmas at Ground Zero"
---Pilot - "Magic"
---The Weird Sisters - "Do the Hippogriff"
---The Waitresses - "Christmas Wrapping"
---Brenda Lee - "Rockin' Around the Christmas Tree"
---The Jackson 5 - "Up on the House Top"
---The Shins - "Wonderful Christmastime"
---Tino - "Christmas in Hawaii"
---The Beach Boys - "Little Saint Nick"
---Burl Ives - "A Holly Jolly Christmas"
---America - "You Can Do Magic"
---Billy Squier - "Christmas is the Time to Say 'I Love You'"
---Stevie Wonder - "What Christmas Means to Me"
---John Williams - "Harry's Wonderous World"
---The Penguins - "Jingle Jangle"
---Leif & Harrison Schaaf - "Black Magic"
---Britney Spears - "My Only Wish (This Year)"
---Smokey Robinson & The Miracles - "Jingle Bells"
---P.S.S. - "The First Noel"
---Harry Connick, Jr. - "Santa Claus"

That's it! There are a bunch of songs that I would have loved to have played, but it was a "family friendly" event (so mc chris was out), and I only had an hour and a half to play tunes. Still, it was fun, even though the event wasn't as packed with people as some of the events I've DJed at the library. (They still ran out of butter beer and cookies before the night was over...)

And, as always, I'm happy to volunteer my time to help out the library. I used the heck out of that place as a kid, and I'm glad that I now have an opportunity to show my gratitude! Libraries are important to a community, and I think it's essential that we support them whenever and however we can. (I'm poor as hell, but I can play tunes, so that's what I do!)

So, there you go. Support your local library, go check out local artists when they have artwork showing near you, and don't be afraid to play a goofy pop song, if it means little kids are going to have a good time! Happy holidays!!!

---Richard F. Yates

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

And Happy Holidays to you to, Richard. Glad you had the help to take care of the heavy work, I have a couple of DJ friends: I know what is involved. Hope your back is much better. And yes, support your local artists!

Yes! The lifting and twisting was accomplished by younger, tougher spines, and YES! I'm feeling much better today. (I've learned a pretty solid regimen for fighting a back injury: ice packs, ibuprofen, coffee, and avoiding too quick of movements until things calm down!) Thanks for reading and for well-wishing!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I Can Help You Today Longview fence companies can provide you with the right fence for your home or business. They have a wide variety of fence styles and materials to choose from so you can find the perfect fence to compliment your property Longview fence companies specialize in fence installation, so you can be sure that your fence will be installed correctly and will last for many years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66