Nirvana - Smells Like Teen Spirit

in #music7 years ago

Some songs I can talk about for hours - other songs I like to let speak for themselves. Something about the drums mixed with the vocal and lyric makes this song one of the best energetic rock songs to not only come out of the 90s - but out of the genre. I remember learning how to play this song on one string when I was younger (when it first came out).

There will never be another Nirvana. I wish I appreciated them more when they were making music..

Sort:  

Such a great song. The band hated playing this song after a while though. It was all anyone wanted them to play and they were sick of it. It was one of the first songs I learned to play on guitar as well.

Its one of those songs that is best left to the recording.. I think they did a great job of capturing what they needed to capture. I remember learning the 4 bass notes first off of a kid in my class.. I was a little bit more advanced than most instrumentalists back then - so I went home and played it with "fifths" and distortion until my parents complained ;) Surprisingly the guitar in the verses is weak - I think "Heart Shaped Box" is like that too.. Drums, bass and vocals made the band in my opinion.. The intro to smells like teen spirit however has almost become the "Stairway To Heaven" of this generation - nowhere near as difficult but certainly as iconic and powerful!

Agreed. Nirvana was a one of a kind band that no other band will duplicate. Who knew Dave Grohl would become a rock music badass with the Foo Fighters after the Nirvana years?

Grunge is one of those genres I'll never get tired of listening to. Give me classic Nirvana, AIC (still sounding good with DuVal on vocals, but it's not the same without Layne), and Soundgarden and put me on a desert island. I won't be disappointed at all.

I love Nirvana. Good taste in music!

One of the all time favorites!

Good pick as you can't go wrong with this song.

This was amazing when it came out and it still totally rocks!

Nirvana, Pearl Jam and Sound Garden are the best grunge bands of all time!

My pick for the best Nirvana covers. You should listen to all of them @rgeddes if you haven't already! Do let me know if whether you like it or not.
https://steemit.com/music/@shadmannnn/nirvana-covers-smells-like-teen-spirit-rape-me-and-heart-shaped-box-by-lana-del-rey-daniela-and-carlson

Everytime I hear this I have to grab for my guitar!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62261.48
ETH 2423.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66