You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 Piano Concertos You Should Listen to This Week

in #music7 years ago

Today, I listened to @Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerty no. 2.

One thing I noticed is that the music seems more complex than the previous pieces by @Bach and @Beethoven (to me, anyway). It was harder for me to pick out the underlying structure, although I did catch some scales in the first movement. Another thing I noticed was that the pianist looked sort-of like a young Billy Joel in the thumbnail view. Not so much once you start the video, though.

My favorite part of the first movement was the part where the oboe and piano played together, without the rest of the orchestra. I think it was around 5 minutes. The horn part near the end of the movement was nice, too.

I agree with you that the second movement has a "lazy Saturday" sort of feel to it, but it did get more exciting for a bit, partway through the movement. I liked the sections where the flutes and clarinets were dominant. The ascending series of notes that the pianist played around 21:20 was pretty impressive, too!

I also agree that the third movement is exhilarating, with contrasting sections of suspenseful mixed in. Very impressive keyboard work by the pianist in this movement. It was my favorite movement, too.

Another good selection. Thanks for the post! I am enjoying learning a bit about classical music.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41