You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 Piano Concertos You Should Listen to This Week

in #music8 years ago

I just finished watching the first two movements of Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 5. Bernstein was really a character. I don't think I've watched him conduct before.

Lots of scales and trills for the piano part in the first movement. I had never realized how prominently scales feature in piano music until you started practicing them daily in September. Now I see them everywhere. I like the French horn parts, too. Also, I guess it shows how little I know about classical music, but with the title, "piano concerto," I'm surprised at how much time the piano spends at rest. I agree with you that the second movement is touching.

I'm out of time for now, so I'll have to finish up the 3rd movement later. Thanks for the suggestion! I'm enjoying it.

Sort:  

Thanks! I enjoy that piece as well. It is incredible how good Beethoven was at writing both loud and exhilarating, then switching to a loving and affectionate sound. He made both sound equally extraordinary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65631.30
ETH 2609.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70