Redd Utopia - My First Beat Tape [Trip-Hop|Jazz|Glitch] Part 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Good morning/afternoon/evening my dear Steemers (still don't know how we're called)

My name's Edmund, and I'm a UK Based, 19 year old, producer. I do think that nowadays Producers are underrated, and most of the credit (and money) are given to rappers/singers... But I'm not here to discuss that.

In this thread, I'll be discussing the second part of my first beat tape. Of course, you can access the first part if you missed it over here: https://steemit.com/music/@reddutopia/redd-utopia-my-first-beat-tape-trip-hop-or-jazz-or-glitch-part-1

In the same way I did before, I'll be embedding the music and giving my own input on it, hoping it gives you guys an extra insight into what I've been doing. Of course, if you enjoy it, please take an extra few seconds to upvote/repost

But enough time wasted, here's the real deal.

6- 60% Slap:
Second track I got recording my guitar as a bass. I also got to play around with this weird trippy sample. I don't remember how I played around with it, but it came out interestingly well haha. I'm not gonna lie with you, this is one of the more repetitive ones. Recently, I've been putting effort into diversifying the same track. This enables me to try out, and maybe expand my limits, and entertain the listeners.

. 7- 70% Waves: I'm not a piano player, but when you got a DAW like FLStudio, typing in the notes is quite easy. Anyone could get a hang of it. Making something melodic and catchy is another subject though. I played around with a clean piano for the melody, a distorted, muffled, even voice-y bass, and even a Sub cause you can always stack them on for the hype. Of course, Trap/Hip-Hop drums, and a twist at the end
. 8- 80% Glitch: The intro reminds me of a stressful scene where people don't have time to catch their breath, and are brutally taken into a situation they'd normally fear. I played around, trying to get this twist of an Early 2000's Bass and that distorted low-passed Pad to fit together on a very specific vibe.
. 9- 90% Yeezu: This one came out from this sample I found. I used it as a lead, it's just one note but I loved the sound of it and played around. Quickly, this smooth beat came out, accompanied by the Pad that elevates everything. At this time, I started getting into Gross Beat (my FL people will know), which I used to (and still do) put on the master, and automate the volume along the entire track, to just fuck with it, and take people by surprise. By doing so, even I am surprised by the outcome sometimes.
. 10- 0% ...: This one is a special one. It wasn't meant to be a beat like the others, and was produced well before. I produced it as a more EDM track, for a girl friend of mine, and would get her to sing on i, which never happened in the end. You'll see that this track probably has the biggest difference ratio between intro and drop, which was the aim, creating different vibes, waves along this same 3 minute. This is one of the tracks that really got me to appreciate the importance of the drums (you'll probably be surprised, why this one out of all others?). The contrast between the electronic sounds and the clean metallic drums/hihats just felt amazing, this made the flow, the feel.
.

There are 2 newer beat tapes I've released since then, so I'll be slowly but surely posting about those for you guys.

Of course, you don't have to wait for me to post about it, just check them out here if you're digging my vibe: https://soundcloud.com/far-from-utopia

Finally, you guys know the Steemit drill better than I do (yes, I'm even talking to you, the guy that joined 3 days ago), so I hope I can count on your support people!

Have a great day, and best of luck in any activities you'll be throwing yourselves in!

Sort:  

hey man, I dunno if you've discovered dSound yet...

if not, you might wanna check it out.

kinda like SoundCloud, but built on Steem - post tracks there and it syndicates to your Steemit profile, and earns rewards from the usual Steem reward pool.

some nice tracks you got on Soundcloud. :-)

Thanks a lot. I've tried getting my music on D Sound but i couldn't upload any files. I'll check back around, see if the issue was resolved.
Also didn't know how linked it was with Steemit

I found wouldn’t work with the Safari browser. Chrome worked for a while, but then crapped out. Have been using Firefox recently and seems to work most of the time - so might wanna test out different browsers, as that could be the problem.

Anything posted on dSound directly links over to your Steemit account. I usually end up editing the version on Steemit after to make it a proper post with pictures and all, just doing a basic text description when first posting to dSound. Seems the edits on the Steemit post don’t copy over to the dSound post, however.

Manage to post today. I've been using Firefox for a while, and it finally worked today. Then I tried again for another file and it went back to just charging up for ages. Any ways, it'll be patched some time soon.

It's a great platform, so I don't doubt how big it'll become and how quickly it could take Soundcloud's steam and fame.

Congratulations @reddutopia! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @reddutopia! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44