BEST NEW MUSIC: Leon Vynehall - Movements (Chapter III) [ambient electronic jazz]

in #music6 years ago

Leon Vynehall's album is shaping up to be a beautiful moody masterpiece (audio)

To make the laziest comparison possible, I feel like there's a lot in common with what I've been hearing from this upcoming Leon Vynehall album and Floating Points' subtle masterpiece Elaenia. They both seem more concerned with creating a mood rather than making a song. They both make tracks that are positively hypnotizing. And they both seem to have an affinity for mixing jazz with electronics. And I have to say, this latest track, "Movements (Chapter III)", from Vynehall is his most Floating Points-esque yet. Over the course of this all-too-brief but exquisite track , the track is anchored by a simple synth and bass motif, with some very lovely horn and sax accompaniment, subtle drums coming into the fold later, all being rounded out with a tasteful piano solo to finish things off. All in all, this track just makes that much more excited for what Vynehall has in store with this upcoming album.

Nothing Is Still is out on Ninja Tune on June 13th. Head over here to pre-order.

Sort:  

I need to check this out. It's weird that it is being touted as a debut album as I'm sure his previous two releases were treated as albums. I certainly tackled the last one as if that were the case.

It may be touted as a debut since it was recorded and will be performed with a live band, which extends the scope outside of his own production perhaps. I've had the pleasure of seeing him previously, and he was doing a DJ set then. Hopefully we can catch him on this tour!

I was thinking the same thing. He had an ep that came out two years ago, and an album (I think) that came out in 2014. But all in all, I’m digging what I’m hearing regardless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18