ANOTHER TBG SURE SHOT: Tall Black Guy - Running Too 3's [instrumental hip-hop in 6/8]

in #music6 years ago

TBG takes on a Roy Ayers' classic with this latest sure shot! (audio)

Sorry, I know I've been away for awhile. But what better way to come into what will hopefully be a regular posting schedule than with another Tall Black Guy Sure Shot! And as expected, this track is just absolutely bananas.

TBG is no stranger to taking on classic tracks; whether it be jazz, soul, hip-hop, or even house, it seems like nothing is off limits to the man. And what's often incredible is how his creations always seem to strike the right balance between paying homage to the original, while flipping into something wholly unique and totally his own. With this latest track, TBG takes on the Roy Ayers' disco-esque classic "Running Away", switches the four on the floor thump out for a lurching, 6/8 beat. In a lot of ways, it's pretty similar to a lot of TBG beats: filtered sampling, a healthy dose of atmosphere, and knocking drums that will keep your head nodding throughout the during song. But honestly, I feel like the "If it ain't broke, don't fix it adage applies", as TBG deftly handles the sample, giving the track countless "How the hell did he do that?" moments.

Which helps make it yet Another Tall Black Guy Sure Shot!

Sort:  

ahhh yeah! my last record pool past was also a Roy Ayers joint! bless up @rawselectmusic!

Checking it now! Excellent choice, good sir! I really need to listen to more Roy Ayers...

Definitely can't go wrong with more Roy Ayers in your life!

Thank for posting this man, I´ll check out more of TBG. Peace

Definitely man. If you need a quick introduction, I did a Top 5 favorite beats of Tall Black Guy awhile back. Check it out (sorry for the shameless self-promotion, haha!)

https://steemit.com/music/@rawselectmusic/playing-favorites-top-5-tall-black-guy-edits-instrumental-hip-hop#comments

Never heard of him, I should check him out!

Definitely. He's one of my favorite beat makers of all time.

If you're looking to get into TBG, here's a good primer:

https://steemit.com/music/@rawselectmusic/playing-favorites-top-5-tall-black-guy-edits-instrumental-hip-hop#comments

Damn man, too funky!

Love the original of course. But this was dope. Now I need d...

Agreed. I heard once awhile ago that Tall Black Guy hand draws all of his drums (rather than playing them out on sample pads). Which after hearing a track like this, it just absolutely insane!

Been listening to his other stuff.

Have to say I am not that big on RnB, but he has some great material! Smooth!

This right here is dope. Never heard of Tall Black Guy but I love his name and I love me some roy ayers!

It's definitely attention grabbing, that's for sure. Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29