Kiwi nostalgia - gone and almost forgotten (27)

in #music6 years ago

NZ Music Month's Melodic Memories (8)

The Radars
(1962-2007)
I could find little else on them, and no recordings to hear.

They may not have been able to read music, but being blind didn’t stop The Radars from becoming one of Auckland’s longest-lasting musical institutions. source

pic.JPG
image source

Suburban Reptiles
(one of the first 2 punk bands in NZ)

(1976-1978)
image source
You can watch them perform their Saturday Night At Home here:


pic.JPG
image source

Screaming Meemees

(1980-1982)
image source
You can watch their See Me Go here:


pic.JPG
image source

Tall Dwarfs
pic.JPG
(1981-onwards)
image source
You can listen to their Meet the Beatle here:


pic.JPG
image source

TrueBliss
(formed via the reality-tv show Popstars)
pic.JPG
(1999-2000)
image source
You can listen to their Tonight here:
Sort:  


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Those Suburban Reptiles looked very smartly dressed for punks... not a torn jean or a safety pin in sight !

Disappointing, eh? lol Hopefully their music makes up for it ;)

I remember the name Screaming Meemees but didn't know the song. Looked at the pic of Tall Dwarfs and thought it looked like Chris Knox and sure 'nuff. I don't know that I'd want to brag about TrueBliss, lol...

That is the last I'll say on the subject of PseudoBliss, lol. lips zipped

That was an interesting mix of music you have shared with us @ravenruis I can't actually recall any of these bands. I must return soon for more of your Melodic Memories.

These ones have needed some research, as I wasn't familiar with them - but that's what makes them almost forgotten and good to put on the blockchain for posterity :D

Absolutely @ravenruis Sorry I used the wrong tag name before. I had just read @kiwideb's comments above and got side tracked. It must be interesting researching all these old (not that I can talk) Kiwi Muso's.

hehe I figured it was something like that. Easy to do. :D

From what I have found, Dunedin has been quite the place to begin musician life from!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53