Here are my top 5 🎵🎸 LIVE 🎸🎵 performances. What are yours?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

Earlier today I was at my favorite lake enjoying the last days of summer.

For me, that's runs around Lake Padden that end up with refreshing dips and basking in the sun listening to tunes while I slip in and out of sleep.

Anyway, while enjoying said activities, some of my favorite live performances came up and it got me thinking about what songs I consider to be the most powerful live (not studio) performances I've seen. So I started considering it and came up with my top 5 and thought I'd go ahead and share.

So here we go....

At number 5

Live - They Stood Up For Love (Acoustic)

This song is probably one of my favorite songs ever. This version is different from the album version (which I also love) but the words and the melody just do it for me everytime. This was recorded in a radio studio in one take. If you really want to see the raw power of one of their performances check out "Live at the Paradiso." So many amazing songs and moments in that performance including the mother that tears up in Lightning Crashes, the normal version of this song, Lakini's Juice and all their other stand outs.

At number 4

Nirvana - Where Did You Sleep Last Night

From their unplugged performance. Everytime I watch it I am just floored by the raw power, vulnerability and talent on display. At the very end where Kurt comes out of the final chorus and you see him come back to the world for a minute, he takes a quick breath and his eyes share a clear path straight to his soul. Just wow.

At number 3

Counting Crows - Round Here (Live from the 10 spot)

The crows are another incredible live band and the version of this song just blew me away when I first heard it and every time since. When they leave the normal version behind and begin painting an even deeper picture with the beautiful piano piece and additional lyrics of the sad struggle going on of a person that just wants to be seen, it just takes hold and doesn't let go. Just a perfect example of how music can grasp you at the core of your humanity and take you on a journey.

At number 2

Pearl Jam - Black & Porch


This one's really hard for me because I've been listening to them from the beginning and spent most of my late teens and early 20s going to Pearl Jam concerts. The impact and influence of their music on my life is interweaved with the core of who I am, right alongside Live. There's just so many amazing performances that I've seen and experienced that it's hard to pick one. I ended up choosing a couple of my favorites from their unplugged performance. Black, being well Black, and Porch because it captures some of the raw power and energy of their early performances. I could watch the build up and explosion of energy that happens towards the end of Porch over and over. The 1992 Pinkpop festival is another absolutely incredible performance I recommend checking out.

At number 1

U2 - All I Want Is You/Where the Streets Have No Name

So here it is, what I consider to be the most powerful live performance I've ever seen. It hits on so many levels. For one, the concert takes place a day after Bono buries his dad and in front of a crowd of more than 180,000 people in their home country. The raw energy, power and emotion from just those few things is already amazing. From there though they take it to a whole nother level. All I Want Is You is dedicated to Allie and the crowd is brought into the song enjoying the ride until the end.

It's at this point that the true greatness of the moment becomes fully present. The crowd is fully present, the band is fully present, everyone is fully engaged. With that back drop the band changes the tone and moves into pure emotion. Bono begins what I can only describe as a pure emotional vocal release that sounds like it's coming straight from his soul. You can easily imagine that it's a send off for his dad as it carries so much emotion that it brings everyone into a moment of pure feeling and energy.

All this happens while the epic intro of the song begins to build. The whole thing just explodes into a wave of energy and light and not a single person isn't moving or being fully impacted. Absolutely incredible.

There you have it. I hope you enjoyed the share. It's probably pretty obviouse that I grew up in the 90s! I would love to see some of the songs that you guys consider to be some of your favorite live performances. Share away in the comments!

Sort:  

@raised2b got you a $8.01 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@raised2b got you a $8.01 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

mate so good the Nirvana and U2 performances are up there with my favs for sure. The tingles down your spine for both are insane!

Definitely agreed, you know you're gettin the good stuff when those tingles are running!

Great post theme These are worth your time. The DMB one isn't my favorite song, but it has an incredible keyboard solo at 7:08.

Thanks a lot for participating man, I was really looking forward to seeing some others chime in with their favorites and was kinda bummed when no one did!

Love your choices though, STP and AIC are other faves of mine. That AIC unplugged performance is awesome. Layne Staley had one of the greatest voices ever. That DMB jam session is sweet too, they're awesome to see in concert.

Just keep posting interesting and original stuff. I was struggling to get my posts recognized and then suddenly am on the top trending list all of today with a huge response. Just have to get found by the right followers and/or promote your content effectively with relevant contacts and in chat rooms to get noticed.

thanks for sharing keep it up

@raised2b Thank you for obtaining this out. Followed.

Congratulations @raised2b! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @raised2b! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64251.91
ETH 3494.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54