The Love of Music Licensing

in #music7 years ago (edited)

As mentioned in my newbie post, I work with a publisher regarding licensing music for film, television, video games and online content. This has been about a 6 year journey for me thus far and has been rewarding as well. I love to create and collaborate when it comes to art/music. Nothing is more satisfying for me at this point in my career than hearing a song/track of mine on television or in a film. At times, I may not even know that a track/song of mine is being placed until it hits the air. Short story, I woke from a nap once and turned on the TV just as background noise while making dinner, and happen to hear a track of mine playing during a interview of the legendary rapper Scarface. Two feelings came to mind instantly, $$$ and well . . . I can't say I produced a song by Scarface, but technically I had him "drop something over one of my tracks" lol.

The posted video is a track called "TwoNyte", produced by myself and features rapper Kopelli and vocalist Myisa Plancq. The song was featured in the film 'Don Jon' which was released in theatres September 2013. The film stars Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Scarlett Johanson. This was my first major motion picture placement. While I admittedly didn't enjoy the film that much, it was a good feeling to be in the theatre, watching the big screen, hearing the song and finally . . . . watching my name scroll up the big screen in the closing credits of the movie. Big moment for me. Hope to have many, many more of these in the future. Peace Steemers!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67878.14
ETH 2626.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64