"Start To Finish" Challenge Update + My Musical Plans For This Fall

in #music6 years ago

For my "start to finish" challenge, I decided to focus more on genres I don't really know how to make yet (like Future Bass & Bass House). I'm planning on focusing on genres both within and outside electronic music (just whatever interests me). I'm going to focus less on Dubstep and Hybrid Trap, since I'm already familiar with those styles, although, I plan on re-making at least one Dubstep track and one or two more Hybrid Trap songs. Additionally, I will be learning how to make music for trailers and short videos. The purpose of this challenge are to ultimately: 1) learn how whole songs are made, 2) get used to making full songs, 3) learn how different styles are made, and 4) learn more about arrangement.

I plan on doing this all the way 'till fall. I'm going to focus on re-making Hip-Hop, Bass House, and Trailers next. After Fall arrives, I plan on shifting my focus to music theory, composition, and playing (musicianship). I'm starting to realize more and more that if I want to speed-up my workflow, beat creative blocks, and make great music, then I will need to dive in deeper into music theory, but most importantly, musicianship. That means that I will need to focus more on mastering the art of instrumentation (playing and instrument), which means that I will be taking the role of an instrumentalist and less of that of a producer. This is just one way I'm addressing my musical growing pains: by studying music theory some more and improving my musicianship skills. I think this will help me to make more and better music and allow me to have more fun making music.

When I start college later this year, I plan on taking music theory & musicianship classes. I think I could really benefit from the structure and social opportunities that a class like this will provide me (which is what I need right now). I want to study music more, so I can expand my capabilities. Plus, this will help me get ready for the rigors of Icon.

In addition, I'm going back to learning how to play guitar. Back in 2010 or 2011, I started learning how to play guitar (after finally getting one). But as I got more and more into music production, I had put it aside for a bit and focus on that, along with playing keyboard. Now that I'm proficient, in both, production and the keyboard, I can finally go back to learning guitar. I'm going to start out with the basics first, then I'm going to learn how to play Metal guitar. Then, I'm going to take up bass, drums, controllerism, and the turntables. I really believe that doing this will help me in making better music (in particular, Bass and Hip-Hop music) - plus, I'll have more fun.

So yes, that means that I will be stepping away from my role as producer and taking on the role of instrumentalist on a full-time basis (at least for a little bit, and only on a part-time basis…just until I feel confident enough as an instrumentalist). I will still be producing, but at a lesser extent. Instead, I will focus more on studying, writing, and playing music. In regards to producing, I think I'm just going to do small, individual production tutorials, just so I can keep my producer chops in shape.

If I want to be taken seriously as a musician, have a great career producing both for myself and others, and overall, have a fun, sustainable career in music, then I will need to take musicianship more seriously. I will also need to start dissecting other artists' music much more closely, and study them on a deeper level. Overall, it will be music theory 20%, and musicianship + composition 80% of the time.

I really think that focusing on developing these skills will help me in - not only becoming a better artist, but also in - improving my workflow. This will help me in streamlining my workflow, so I can work more efficiently, and get me another step closer to mastery. I need to do this if I want to have a truly successful, sustainable career in music.

Sort:  

Thanks for support steem network.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29