A Good Math Rock Play ListsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

For some time I have been a fan of the music genre that is sometimes called Math Rock. I didn't actually know it was called Math Rock until the game No Man's Sky came out (I'm a fan of that too). Math Rock seems to be what you get when you combine classical music with rock music. Something that can be engaging and energetic but also cerebral at the same time.

Admittedly some math rock songs can be a trial to listen to. This post is a short list of what I think are the best representative samples as well as being some of my favourite math rock tunes.

Listen and (hopefully) enjoy:

Artist - Song TitleSome Comments
65 Days of Static - No Man's Sky Sound TrackEthereal space tunes, I think these guys have set the new standard for the genre.
65 Days of Static - Retreat! Retreat!Another good one from this band.
David Bowie - V2 SchneiderThis David Bowie classic from 1977 might be the first math rock song ever?
Crystal Castles - CrimewaveThe lyrics to this song are posted below, I find that the song is really enjoyable when you understand what she is singing.
PHYSICS - Carry U InsideThis one has more of a chillax/lounge lizard feel to it.
Lite - ... Still, it is quiet around hereAn enjoyable upbeat guitar dominated tune.
Let Us Just Call It Abstract - And as technique became invisible, all that was left was pure emotionAnother enjoyable upbeat guitar dominated tune, not too abstract which is good.

Lyrics For Crystal Castles:

Eyes lit
I want short breaths
I found dark eye lids
Nice breasts
Like the summer into rough hands
These lines are basically repeated over and over through the song.


Thanks for reading my post. Have a nice day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46