R3MIX: My Experience in Collaboration with @djlethalskillz

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Remix dj lethal skillz and playitforward 3.jpg

R3MIX: My Experience in Collaboration with @djlethalskillz

Composition


Each week from the beginning of January this year I have been creating a piece of music based on the Steem and SBD charts. This week, @djlethalskillz decided to do a remix of this, and it is incredible.

Come listen to the original post here.

@djlethalskillz


I've been talking with @djlethalskillz on Steemit. It seems many different things brought us together to start collaborating on a number of projects and hopefully more to come. On top of collaborating together, he has helped as a friend deal with navigating the waters of Steemit and been a strategizing partner for several projects going on.

We've since been communicating through discord and @sndbox.

That being said, anyone who isn't already following him and checking out his posts is missing out.

The Remix


We were in talks about this weekly SBD/Steem chart I was creating. He had reached out about doing a Remix. I mentioned to him that basically, you know this piece has super flexed tempo, no two beats are equal because I manually input the tempo vs just selected one. This would make his job much harder. Surprisingly, he didn't seem to flinch at this (even I did) and continued on to create something I couldn't even imagine, and it's magical.

The Final Outcome


After he sent me this, I decided hey I don't rap but why not try to make something. It's super cheesy and hope it makes everyone smile at the very least.


The amazing thing about this platform is the opportunity and availability of collaboration at every corner. It happens so naturally, most people are interested in creating works together and it ends up benefitting everyone.

I am honored that he wanted to remix this track, but what I'm more honored is that he was moved by the initiative enough to jump in and be a part of it in a completely new way that I had never anticipated. @djlethalskillz is a true artists and collaboration was the most fluid and clearly communicated than I've done with anyone so far. I appreciate this experience and hope we have some surprises for the community on the horizon.

Steemians, we would love to hear about what you think about the creative process and outcome! Please drop your comments below, but not as hard as @djlethalskillz' beats.

follow_playitforward.gif

Sort:  

Mah man! I'm so honored to meet like-minded creative musicians, I respect all your work and the mentality on how u approach ur projects and how open u are to experiment new ideas.

I had so much fun remixing this track and beware I'm gonna remixing a lot more of ur work ... lol

Kudos on the kind words and all the support and for the opportunity to be part of this genius initiative that u started, looking forward to building more mah dude!

Much Respect and for more to come! Salute

Image result for reggae dance animated gif

Way to do something out of your comfort zone bro !!!

Love it were all a team!!!

How unique. Enjoyable!

Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and for posting on my latest rant. Great to meet you!

I think it is fancy and I would listen more of it! I am happy for you and hope that you can find more opportunities like this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75