Los Asteroids: A life change experience

in #music7 years ago

Hello Steemians!

Today I want to share an experience that changed my life, an experience that involves travel, music and friends.

In the summer of 2016, I started playing for "Los Asteroids", an indie rock band, produced by the producer, composer, cellist and orchestral director and my friend Sergei Grosny, (whose music you can listen following this link: https://soundcloud.com/sergeigrosny ) with whom I had the luck to work in another band called "Miscellaneous" a few years ago.
ser.jpg

From the first moment, from the first rehearsal, I felt part of the band; the connection with my companions was incredible; we became brothers instantaneously.
It was there where I met the 3 brothers "Chirinos":Faustino Chirino (bass), fausti.jpg
Juan manuel Chirino (guitar)juan.jpg
Francisco Chirino (keyboard)fran.jpg
And my friend Alex Santa Rosa (voice)alex.jpg

Everything looks normal, right?
It turns out that "Los Asteroids", had the support of a very important record label, so things started to work a little different compared to a normal band; in a month I went from watching TV with nothing else to do, to go on tour ( Cordoba, Mar Del Plata, the north of Argentina) and record in the best recording studios.
Maybe these things are normal for many people, but I live in Argentina, and as a good South American country, things are pretty ugly here (the economic crisis accompanies us since we were born); that's why it's so difficult for an independent musician like me to be able to go on tour, record albums, make video clips, without any help.

Do you want to see what a good production can do? Well, this is me on a normal day.feooo.jpg
me, with Los Asteroids. (this photo is from the video clip "Siento") different, right? hahaha.
bien 1.png

Here I give you another song, one of my favorites: "random"

In October 2016, we went on tour to Mexico with "Okills", an incredible band from Venezuela, definitely the best experience I had in my life; the feeling of traveling to another country with friends, playing music and being paid for it, is surreal, for me at least hahaha.
We played in the city of Leon, San Luis Potosi (with Mon Laferte), Queretaro, Teotihuacan, Metepec and Mexico City.
mexico.jpg

It was an incredibly bizarre and fun year for me, where I had the opportunity to travel with my friends playing music and learn how the "business world" of music works. I hope life gives me more experiences like the one I lived with Los Asteroids.
Unfortunately experiences like this are not usual, as I said before, it takes a lot of money and infrastructure to do those things (tours, recordings, video clips, etc), that's why I feel very grateful to have lived this experience.

I also learned more about something that I already knew, how cruel the world of music is when you don´t have the economic resources to spread your art. The big labels do everything they can so that independent musicians can not emerge.
Once you are inside the system, everything is beautiful, but if you are outside the system, everything is difficult, a war of self-management (pure capitalism).

Currently The Asteroids are in a break, Alex Santa Rosa went to Boston to study music. But when one door closes, another door opens; At the beginning of this year, "Catrinas" was born, a new indie rock band that we made with my brothers Chirinos and Sergei Grosney.
This time we are alone, without record label and without money hahaha, real indie.

Sort:  

Hey, bro. Good music, and surely great experiences (Okills are great too). The changes in life push us to take different ways, it's a challenge, but the hardest things give the best results. I hope you get great things here. ¡Saludos desde Venezuela!

Gracias hermano! estoy totalmente de acuerdo, que bueno que te haya gustado la musica!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31