How I became a "composer" being a drummer: "Suite letters to Betty - Hello Betty"

in #music7 years ago

Hello Steemit!

Today I want to share with you a little of what I was doing in 2017. As some of you know I am a drummer, but I always felt the need to go a little further musically, I felt that I was missing something; that´s why I started to study a degree in composition and film music at the UCA (Argentine Catholic University).
mono.jpg

In this post I am going to show you a piece called "Hello Betty", the piece nº1 of my suite (musical form that consists of several movements) called "Cartas a Betty"(Letters to Betty). This suite was my final composition work and consisting of 5 pieces, that try to belong to a"Post Romantic and Impressionist" period.
In general, the work is a tribute to my grandparents Betty and Roberto, and is based on a series of letters that they sent each other. I found this letters with my cousins a few years ago. At the time of writing these letters they were starting to date, these are love letters worthy of a romantic movie to "Hollywood style" and each piece represents a letter.
concordia.jpg

The story takes place in the late 50's in the province of Entre Rios Argentina, my grandfather lived in Concordia and my grandmother in a colony in the middle of nowhere, with dirt roads and sometimes the mail truck could not deliver the mail; In a time when communication was light years away from what it is today, this could mean weeks of disagreement, of anguish and uncertainty.
This is the first piece, the first letter, when my grandfather, after meeting my grandmother at a local dance, unfolds all his arsenal of conquest and seduction with his own handwriting.

Here is a link to the score: https://drive.google.com/file/d/18ilywjcvDlWF6xwfuLIubCcmyYUc7QSD/view?usp=sharing

This is one of my first experiences where I had to compose under a concept that integrates several pieces, where each letter has to be reflected in the music. It is an exercise that I highly recommend, composing under a general idea, a story, and trying to bring feelings to music.

If you have never heard a suite, I recommend my 2 favorites: -The Suite Bergamasque, by Claude Debussy, is a piano suite from 1890.
-Miroirs (Mirrors), a five-piece piano suite composed by the frenchman Maurice Ravel in 1904.

The world changes, and nowadays a musician must have several tools to be able to develop professionally. In my opinion it is essential that a musician (especially a drummer like me) have basic notions about not only harmony and composition, but also production, that is, learn about recording, audio and video editing. Managing this knowledge allows a musician to become more self-sustaining in a world where it is no longer enough to just study and "play well." It also helps us to express ourselves better.

It is a personal decision about what path to take, what to study and find what are the things that motivate you. I am a drummer who fell in love with the composition, which still has a lot of work ahead of me, to be able to compose professionally, but while trying to enjoy it like crazy hahaha.

I hope you like it and that the energies of the letters feel reflected in the music (if you feel other things please tell me what are you felling)

Sincerely, @piterman

Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Meno from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51