The Dirty Heads...who's heard of them?

in #music8 years ago (edited)


I first heard of the Dirty Head's demo album thanks to the old Sublime Archive website way back in 2004. I found many bands there on the Sublime Archive back in the day, that I still listen to regularly. These include, Slightly Stoopid and Sublime obviously. That's also where I discovered bands like Pepper, Part One Tribe, Spoken Gun, Long Beach Dub All Stars, Bargain Music and Stick Figure to name just a few. They all had amazing bootleg albums on there. Then Universal Music Group served the archives with a subpoena requiring that they remove all Sublime audio from the site. The server ran in some form from 1998-2005. When Universal released the Sublime box , the archive was officially taken down.

I have followed the Dirty Heads as their career has progressed since. The following youtube video/song, is my favorite from the 2004 demo tape.
The Dirty Heads - Rub A Dub Style

In 2008, they finally made it big with their debut album, Any Port in a Storm. They are one of my favorite bands and have such a good sound. They refer to themselves as having a "sunny sound" and are a blend of reggae and hip hop. It's Surf Reggae in my opinion, I love them booming in the boat when I'm wakesurfing. They are a five-piece band from Huntington Beach, California consisting of:
Jared Watson AKA " Dirty J" (vocals), Dustin Bushnell AKA “Duddy B” (vocals/guitar), Jon Olazabal (percussion), Matt Ochoa (drums) and David Foral on bass.

My son @jpiper20 and I have seen them in concert four times that I can remember, and a few that I can't. Haha, one of these was in August of 2011. We went to a 3 day concert series, the 311 Pow Wow, and camped out onsite for two nights! It was held at the Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park which is a 500 acre park along the Suwannee River in northern Florida. Live Oak, Florida to be exact. During 3 days/nights of music, we saw a total of 20 bands! Music began on Thursday evening and ended late Saturday night.

Picture credit: Tommy Piper @ 311 Pow Wow

Anyways, the standout performance of the Festival was the Dirty Heads doing their hit, "Hip Hop Misfits". I just happened to have recorded it on video. I've shared it on the Dirty Heads Facebook page before and they loved it.
Enjoy the video I recorded and I recommend you see the Dirty Heads in concert soon if you haven't already.


Oh and for the Steemit content trolls:

"No copyright is claimed. No Copyright Intended in use of either video to the extent that material may appear to be infringed. I assert that such alleged infringement is permissible under fair use principles in U.S. copyright laws. If you believe this material has been used in an unauthorized manner, please comment and harass below. With each of your comments, I will receive 0.03 Steem Dollar and more Steem Power. If I reply and get several upvotes for my comment, I could in fact get several Steem Dollars. My highest reward so far from troll comments is 1.41 SD and 0.977 Steem Power. "

Picture Source: Instagram @dirtyheads / link: https://www.instagram.com/p/BK43-ZcDbpV/?taken-by=dirtyheads

#dirtyheads
#concerts
#reggae
#hiphop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.59
ETH 2604.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71