Chocolate and Roses

in #music8 years ago (edited)


I just wanna share some awesome music with you guys tonight. A band known simply as, The Green. They've been on my radar for a while,ever since another of my favorite Hawaiian bands,Pepper, gave them a shout out back in 2009 as up-and-comers. Several friends that I have turned on to The Green agree that "Chocolate and Roses" is an absolute masterpiece! The very first time I heard it, it seemed just so perfect and familar.

"Chocolate and Roses"


The Green officially formed on O‘ahu, Hawai‘i in 2009. The six man supergroup from Hawai‘i started out collaborating just for fun. They wound up with a few songs and decided to record them. In 2010,they released a self-titled debut album and quickly started to get noticed. They were awarded iTunes Best Reggae Album of the Year in 2010. One of the best songs on that album is" I'm Yours', give it a listen.

This prompted them to tour the mainland USA and were quickly signed by Easy Star Records. Their next self-recorded effort was an album entitled,"Ways & Means". It went to #1 on the iTunes and Billboard Reggae charts prompting a more mainstream touring supporting acts as well known as: Rebelution, Iration, SOJA and Damian Marley. They played at several festivals including Vans Warped Tour, Wakarusa, Sierra Nevada World Music Festival and California Roots Festival.

In 2013, The Green turned to Hurley Studios in Costa Mesa, CA, to record their third album with Danny Kalb ( of Ben Harper, Beck, Jack Johnson, fame). This was the band’s first outside producer/engineer. They also added Joe Tomino as a new drummer for these recording sessions. He was formerly with Dub Trio (who also double as Matisyahu’s backing band). Combining the efforts of the bands five song writers (Kennedy, guitarist-vocalist Zion Thompson, vocalist Caleb Keolanui, keyboardist-vocalist Ikaika Antone, and bassist/multi-instrumentalist Brad Watanabe) with these two resulted in the The Green’s most current album "Hawai‘i ’13". The album opens with a chant. They feel that when one chants, we are asking for blessings, knowledge, and guidance so that we can be ‘pono’ or righteous in whatever we do.”

“From the times of ancient Hawai‘i and even up to present day, chanting has been a part of our culture,” says JP Kennedy, guitarist, vocalist, “It’s a way to start something important. When we chant,“He Mele No Ku‘u Hawai‘i”, we ask for blessings, knowledge, and guidance so that we can be ‘pono’ or righteous in whatever we do.”

Hawai‘i ’13 combines several musical genres from roots reggae, to soul, and R&B and the band’s four singers (Kennedy, Thompson, Keolanui and Antone) take turns on lead vocals, or swap vocals with each other within a song. A perfect example of their harmonic abilities are shown in "Dearest Sylvia", another of my favorites, lead sang by Zion Thompson, the lead guitarist.


The album, Hawai‘i ’13, takes you on a musical journey through Hawaiian life and culture. It draws from The Green’s musical upbringing as much as their musical vision for the future of Hawai‘i music. Once you listen to this record, there is absolutely no doubt that the chant served its purpose!

The album’s songs span from soulful lover’s rock (“Striking Up A Love,” “Take Me On”), to heavy roots reggae(“Good One,” “Forgive Me”), to smooth R&B ballads, my favorite, (“Chocolates & Roses”), roots reggae-pop efforts like (“Power in the Words” and “Good Vibe Killah”), and even a herb anthem entitled(“Hold Me Tight”).

Give them a listen, you won't be disappointed. Their voice are so soothing and soulful and their unique sound is unrivaled in my opinion.2015 Highlights:

  • 2015 Honolulu Pulse Award Winner: Best Local Band – Reggae

  • Summer Tour supporting 311

2014 Highlights:

  • 2014 Nā Hōkū Hanohano Award Winner in 3 categories:
    – Group of the Year
    – Reggae Album of the Year
    – Favorite Entertainer of the Year

  • 2014 Honolulu Pulse Award Winner: Best Local Band – Reggae

  • Performed 3 sold-out shows with Bruno Mars in Honolulu in April

2013 Awards Highlights:

  • Won Album of the Year in The 2013 Pier Awards
  • AllMusic’s Favorite Reggae Albums of 2013
  • Albums Of The Year: 2013 RudeboyReggae.com Awards


Current Band Members
Caleb Keolanui – Lead Vocals
Ikaika Antone – Keys, Lead Vocals
JP Kennedy – Guitar, Lead Vocals
Zion Thompson – Guitar, Lead Vocals
Brad “BW” Watanabe – Bass, Keys
Jordan Espinoza – Drums


This is a decal my friend Stacy and I created to tag his cooler.

*All picture courtesy of the band's official website. All videos courtesy of Youtube.
"No copyright is claimed. No Copyright Intended in use of either video to the extent that material may appear to be infringed. I assert that such alleged infringement is permissible under fair use principles in U.S. copyright laws. If you believe this material has been used in an unauthorized manner, please comment and harass below.
#steemit
#reggae
#steem
#life

Sort:  

This post was resteemed by @steemradio ! Together, we are building the sound of the Steemit community.

awesome, let me know if and how I can help you more, I got the Reggae genre covered for sure...

Well done! The music is stellar. (Way better than 3 cents, I might add @pipertomcat, now I can be significantly chilled while I buy gas and coins lol)
Seriously, I liked the music a lot. Can't wait to listen to it with some Super Lemon Haze. ;)

sounds like a great combination The Green and the GREEN !

Hahahaha! Exactly. Can't wait to try the 2 together.
By the way, I just froze my ass off getting a video and some stills of people kyte sailing and surfing in my home town. (It's about a 5 hour drive from where I currently live.) It's Lake Huron (a very large fresh water lake) and we jokingly refer to it as our "west coast". This footage is from a local news agency.
http://london.ctvnews.ca/top-surfing-spot-in-canada-may-not-be-where-you-d-expect-1.1857038
I'll post my footage later, after I drive back home and I'll tag you and Jay in it somehow.
If you ever come to Canada, I'll make sure you get to try out some surfing here. Full wet suits required.:)

cool sounding spot! I am anxiously awaiting your footage also. You should make it a post and use one tag as #steemit-watersports please. I have been using trying to get that listed as an official tag. We have wet suits and will travel, maybe we'll get to come and visit one day soon! Jay and I have saw The Green perform twice so far, if they ever come to Canada, you must go see them live to truly appreciate just how talented they are.

I will give the #steemit-watersports a shot. Do I just drop it in as one of my 5 meta-tags? If so, does it go in as watersports?
I'll do this tomorrow because my 5 hour drive was 6.5.
I ate a cookie and I'm going to listen to Green. ;)

One of my favorite bands!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.07
ETH 2408.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43