My Favorite Songs From 'Home Movies'

in #music6 years ago

Home Movies was a great cartoon sitcom on Cartoon Network, which had 4 seasons from 2001-2004. It was made by Loren Bouchard and Brendan Small. Bouchard also made Dr Katz, Professional Therapist and Bob's Burgers. Brendon Small went on to create and star in Metalacalypse. He is a great guitar player and a graduate of the Berklee College of Music, who wrote the songs for both shows. On Metalocalypse, he is the composer, vocalist and guitarist of Dethklok. In Home Movies, he plays the 8 year-old, self-named Brendon Small, who makes homemade movies with his friends Jason and Melissa, and an older kid, Dwayne and his band Scäb. Jason and the kids' soccer coach McGuirk are played by H. Jon Benjamin, who does the voice of Archer and as well as from Bob's Burgers. Brendan lives with his divorced mother Paula and his adopted baby sister Josie. He develops a skewed father/son-like relationship with his alcoholic, short-tempered soccer coach, John McGuirk.

I really love this show, for the humor and warmth, but also for some of the amazing songs, written and performed by Small. Here are some of my favorites:

Mr. Pants (Song starts at 1 Minute Mark)
When Starboy and the Captain of Outer Space go after a group of historical villains, George Washington unleashes his greatest weapon, Mr Pants!


I’m Mr. Pants and I’m coming to get ya’
Better run for your life, you better run or I’ll catch ya’
I got paws like a cat cause that’s what I am
I’ll throw up on your carpet and scratch up your hands

You’ll scream for your life cause you won’t be happy
My name is Mr. Pants and I’m actually kind of crafty
Mr. Pants is my name and I’d like to say hi
Give me a call we’ll hang out some time
I’m Mr. Pants!

I’m the roughest toughest kitty in the land
My name is Mr. Pants
I’m the kitty cat man
Nobody’s gonna stop me from having my way
My name is Mr. Pants and have a nice day
Mr. Pants!

Kafka, From the Rock Opera based on "The Metamorphosis"
Dwayne writes a killer rock opera based on Kafka, but Brendan would rather work on his own project "Louis, Louis", about a teamup between Louis Pasteur and Louis Braille

He is Franz Kafka! Franz Kafka! Be careful if you get him pissed… Franz! Franz Kafka! He’ll smite you with metaphor fists! Writing all he can, he’s just a man A warrior of words taking a stand He grew up very poor He's steel, it's to the core Born in 1883 Died in 1924 He is Franz Kafka!
I’m a lonely German A lonely German from Prague! I wonder what I'll write about I think I'll write about bugs
Kafka! Kafka! Kafka!

I don’t know what’s wrong with me
I think I’m turning into a bug
I see double what I see
I think I’m turning into a bug
I ain’t got no self-esteem
I think I’m turning into a bug
Bet you fifty dollars
I’m a man, I’m a scholar and I’m turning into a bug
Momma like a daddy like a baby like a baby like I’ll turn into a bug
Yeah! Yeah!
He is Franz Kafka!

Living like a bug ain’t easy
My old clothes don’t seem to fit me
I got little tiny bug feet
I don’t really know what bugs eat
Don’t want no one stepping on me
Now I’m sympathizing with fleas

Don't Put Marbles In Your Nose


Brendan and friends try to teach a valuable lesson to little kids after his baby sister has to go to the doctor to have a marble taken out of her nose. Here is a version with only the music.

Don't Kill Children


When Brendan is hit by a car while riding his bike on the wrong side of the road, he is outraged that he must right an essay as punishment, instead composing this catchy tune with the help of Dwayne in protest.

Jazz Fight


The kids settle their differences with Jazz!

Timmy


The tragic tale of Timmy, who lets boredom and apathy destroy his life.

The Wizard's Baker


Melissa and Jason make a movie without Brendan. My favorite part is the sweet guitar sliding in the background of the cow milker's soliloquy around 27 seconds in.

Freaky Outie


Brendan and friends attempt to start a band; plus Dwayne saves his solo in the guitar contest, despite bad equipment.

Closing Theme

Sort:  

my childhood often saw cartoons

Very nice pist.i like your cartoon move post

I like the funy tunes of the cartoons...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72