Creative Genius, Janelle Monae

in #music6 years ago

janelle-monae.jpg

For those of you who are not acquainted with this amazing woman, allow me to introduce her.

Janelle Monae is a singer, songwriter, and artist ahead of our time. She began her music career in the early 2000s, and her lyrics range from highly suggestive to inspirational. I am a huge fan because of her honesty.

The first song of hers that became an earworm for me personally was from her 2010 album “The ArchAndroid (Suits II and III)” titled “Tightrope”. If you have not seen this video yet, I would like to encourage you to check it out on YouTube:

Her melodic voice and ‘fancy footwork’ are entertaining, and her lyrics have strong messages. I love it!

In 2013, Janelle Monae came out with another album (“The Electric Lady”) in which she features Erykah Badu in the song “Q.U.E.E.N.”. This video should be watched until the end, because her lyrics...

“Mixing masterminds like your name Bernie Grundman.
Well I'm gonna keep leading like a young Harriet Tubman
You can take my wings but I'm still goin' fly
And even when you edit me the booty don't lie
Yeah, keep singing and I'mma keep writing songs
I'm tired of Marvin asking me, "What's Going On?"
March to the streets 'cause I'm willing and I'm able
Categorize me, I defy every label
And while you're selling dope, we're gonna keep selling hope
We rising up now, you gotta deal you gotta cope
Will you be electric sheep?
Electric ladies, will you sleep?
Or will you preach?”

The most recent album she created is called “Dirty Computer”, and her video for the song “PYNK” is definitely turning heads. In a slate.com article titled “ You’ve Heard of ‘Pussyhats’. Now Allow Janelle Monae’s New Music Video to Introduce You to ‘Pussypants’, writer Marissa Martinelli states Janelle’s fashions “a pair of poofy full-length pants fashioned to look like a vagina, complete with vulva ruffles”. This is something I had to see to believe:

Janelle makes quite a strong statement with this video and catchy tune. My favorite lyrics are “Cause boy it’s cool if you got blue. We got the pink.” I think I’m in love with this woman!

Her videos never disappoint.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54