Sort:  

I guess if you want to look at in those terms. I just saw barriers begin to disappear as black music began to mainstream.

Think about it: Blacks had been considered second-class citizens as a whole in the deep South until at least the 1960s. When they "invented" music, they were able to please so many ears, no matter their race.

I remember an anecdote about the Rat Pack and how their black musician wasn't allowed in a hotel; Frank Sinatra just canceled the reservation altogether.

I grew up in Boston and live in the South by choice. Boston is the most racist place I've ever seen...I don't know about prior to the 60's with the KKK and all that in the South, you're probably right but in my experience people get along much better here than anywhere else I've lived.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68539.09
ETH 3904.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62