Music Monday (feel free to add your own music)

in #music7 years ago (edited)

The aim is simple, to banish those Monday blues with an eclectic range of music chosen by Steemit friends both old and new.

Music Monday.jpg

Every Monday I intend to post a music video (and a few words explaining my choice) I invite you to join me by doing same in the comments section below. As the forum (hopefully) grows my aim is that we begin to inspire our fellow Steemians to broaden their musical horizons by listening to the music that inspires us. The only thing I ask is that (where possible) every song we listen to is played nice and loudly on headphones or speakers in order that we capture it’s true essence.

As more Steemians join this venture there is also going to be the possibility of being rewarded for our musical tastes via the amount of upvotes each song receives. That said please never feel awkward about posting a track, a guilty pleasure or even your own musical ventures. I have an extremely wide range of musical interests but also understand that music like beauty is very much in the eye of the beholder. As such I may play my chosen song, but who am I to define what constitutes good music.

My choice this week is a classic track from The Velvet Underground. I love the ethereal beauty of this song, it takes me away on a wave of music .. a wave I surf regularly. I hope you enjoy.

This isn't about making me Steem so please save your upvotes and reward the songs that you feel are worthy, although equally if my song stands out to you then I'd appreciate the vote. Any resteems would be much appreciated, all are invited and welcomed to join us in sharing and listening to a diverse range of music.

Minnow5.gif

Written by perceptualflaws
Song: Oh Sweet Nuthin
Band: The Velvet Underground
Gifs courtesy of @justcallmemyth

I'm proud to be both a member and supporter of the Minnow Support Project - brought to you by the hard work of: @aggroed, @teamsteem, @canadian-coconut and @ausbitbank,
discord channel: https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw

Minnow3.gif

Sort:  

Hey Buddy,
This week is an absolute classic and a real favourite of mine. I haven't listened to it in a long time until tonight.
Pixies - Monkey gone to heaven.

Just awesome!

Stone cold classic!! And I'm sure there are a whole generation that would wholeheartedly agree with ever letter of that statement!! In many ways they defined a generation!!! I was lucky eough to catch them a few years back when they got back together for a few gigs .. they've still got it!! An excellent and inspired choice my friend, thanks for sharing.

I find this song so enchanting and it always seems to give me hope for humanity.

LOVE this song!!! Thanks for posting, sometimes I forget about it and see it pop up again...such a great rendition =)

It's such a good song, so beautiful. Half the time I listen to it I tear up as I find it so moving.

This is such an uplifting version of the song, and it reminds me of when I travelled to Hawaii in the 1990s. I hadn't heard it in a while. Thanks for posting.

I know. I always get emotional listening to it. This video especially as well because it's footage of when they spread his ashes in the bay. Very touching.

Hey my friend thanks for sharing this beautiful song! .. somehow it just works and your right, it lifts you up on wings of hope and makes you realise that as long we're capable of moments of such beauty, somehow in the long run it's all going to be alright. Thanks for sharing!!

I couldn't have said it better. I use it as my alarm to start my morning routine. It's nice to wake up to. :)

When I see your weekly post I just wait for the first song to come to mind that I would want to share with someone who hadn't heard it before. Peace

Hey my friend, what a great way to inspire your weekly choice!! Equally one that always enables you to pick an inspired decision. I love this track and I love the band, there is so much of my youth tied up in this music but my love for it is so much more than nostalgia! On any day of the week this is a great slice of musical genius, thanks for sharing.

It says "video not available" - but I do love New Order so I've probably heard it before. Good choice of music on this thread!

@natubat yes you're correct it does say music no available, but I love the song so I had to nip over to youtube for a cheeky listen ;)

This one will give you GOOSEBUMPS!! This is one of my favourite songs to listen to while I paint or doodle!! It just makes me feel so good!! It’s so beautiful and their music is absolutely amazing! It’s a long song but well worth the listen time! 💜 🌏 !

And here’s another one of his amazing songs!! 💜

Wow what a powerful song! A poignantly beautiful ethereal slice of magic and you're right my gooseumps are standing to attention! Highly original and yet I hear shades of Xavier Rudd .. high praise indeed! This song speaks to days past and makes me yearn for natures warm embrace. Thank you for sharing!!

My current favourite song is "land of all" by woodkid. If you haven't heard of him before, I highly recommend checking out his music! his backround in cinema combined with his epic soundscapes creates something amazing!

Wow - what a voice! Reminds me of David Sylvian of Japan. I will have a listen to some of his other tracks.

David Sylvian hey? I'll have to look that up! Iron by woodkid is also really good, the video for it blew my mind! check it out!

David Sylvian was in a late-70s to 80s band called Japan. They were quite influential and pretty under-rated I think! Definitely look him up. And I will give Iron a listen.

Great choice my friend, hauntingly beautiful. The music washes over you and slowly takes you away to another place, I can really hear the cinema influence in this and you're right it's epic!! I'm always looking for new music to listen to when I'm writing, music to inspire me! I have a feeling the music of Woodkid will be accompanying me on some new literary adventures very soon! Thank you for sharing.

Your welcome! If your interested in hearing more I highly recommend checking out his debut album "The Golden Age". I used to listen to it while out hiking to gain inspiration, definitely did the trick! As a visial artist, inspiring music is a must in my life, so cinematic music is a perfect fit for creating visuals in my head. works very well =)

Thank you for the heads up, I will be sure to check out some more of his music! I've really enjoyed both of these tracks. Just the right side of beauty and epic I like to write to. @natubat feel free to share some David Sylvian next week :)

I love love looove this song!! 💜

I love this beautiful old song and Aretha's version is the best I've heard. Her voice soars.

Simply beautiful my friend! A soothing comfort blanket of musical wonder. Songs like this will never grow old. Both the song and Aretha's voice speak to us on a level many modern singers can only dream of. Thank you for sharing I really enjoyed your inspired choice, a choice I would never have normally heard but I'm so glad I did!!

I'm glad you enjoyed it. It's short and mmm... not so much sweet as divine!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by perceptualflaws from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Another fave artist i'd like to share is Hayden Calnin. He's from australia, really incredible vocal range and abstract style to his music. Also a film school graduate, which clearly shows in his music videos. Was watching the TV show "The 100" last night and heard one of his songs! He's also been featured in Suits, The Vampire Diaries, Teen Wolf, So You Think You Can Dance USA and the official UK trailer for Oscar nominated film ‘Room’.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85