wedding number 78

in #music6 years ago

Well...... not sure if it's exactly 78. But that is how many weddings it feels like I've played.

IMG_5462.JPG

This one seemed to run pretty smoothly. It was a lot lower key that the usual dramatic displays and massive ballrooms we see sometimes.

As you might have seen they skimped on the drummer…. Often it’s the bassist they skim on, so I feel lucky this time!

Not much to say… I played my first ‘Kiss’ song ever. “I was made for loving you baby…” You guys know that one?

It was a mixed couple. A German guy marrying a Chinese girl. So they organized the band to play while guests were eating. And after the guests had put down a few drinks, they of course did karaoke.....

wed4_Moment.jpg

Although I do appreciate getting asked to do these kinds of gigs. The payment is usually a lot higher than your average bar gig. But honestly I'm kinda hoping that gradually the other gigs will get better, and I won’t need to do these anymore. I just feel they are a little disheartening… Even though one does of course need to make a living, and there are thousands of people who would kill for the oportunity to get paid for playing music.

When I think about it from this perspective, I do have to be thankful and gratefull.

And really......I do think it is extremely lucky for someone to be able to play exactly the type of music they want to play, AND make a living from it too. Very lucky!

So, I think for now this will continue, and I'll try to think of the many talented musicians out there without any work whenever I start getting negative thoughts about it.

I still have aspirations to play better gigs, so I'll continue working on important aspects like timing, ear training and being more social. As well as composing, transcribing playing with records, jamming etc. Everything else should fall into place eventually.

I am pretty excited about the potential with streaming live, and with platforms like steemit that give an outlet and perhaps allow someone to begin making an income stream from whatever it is that they do. But this kinda stuff needs to be built up over time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78