heyday - Oleg & Frank DuosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music6 years ago

Tonight I went to Heyday to see what kinda music was happening. I hadn't been there since the first and only time playing there a few years ago. So I thought it was about time I went back to have a look.

It's a nice little setup. A small room, dark and modern. It's actually set up perfectly for the seating hierarchy. The normal people need to sit the furthest away from the stage at the bar or stand nearby. Next there are the high tables where on busier nights you would need to spend a certain amount. Then there are the smaller tables right up the front where you need to spend more, and the booths behind that where you spend the most.

Tonight they did however allow a few groups to sit further up the chain, so as not to turn anyone away.

IMG_5191.JPG

It looks like this system works really well because its small and therefore limited, creating a bit of FOMO. Also the mentality in China and many other parts of Asia to show ‘face’ is just like framework in this environment. Whether it be a young guy trying to impress a girl on a date, or a businessman trying to impress their client, they will always go for the best seats.

IMG_5196.JPG

But back to tonight. It was Oleg (piano) and Frank (vocals) playing. I was hoping to see a full band, but it is a tuesday night. And they played well, and people had a good time.

I was very impressed with Oleg. He must be one of the top piano players in Shanghai. I had heard a lot about him, but this was actually the first time seeing him play. Very playful and has a lot of skill sets that he mixes effortlessly over the range of the piano. I’d like to see him in a trio setting to see how he plays in that environment…. I’ll try head back in a few weeks later in the week when a full band should be playing.

Frank is like the “Sinatra” impersonator here in Shanghai. He has great stage presence, you know, very confident, cracking jokes etc. If I may be critical, I thought he needs a bit more dynamics in his vocals. They’re always the super strong crooning type, and I believe it would be more effective if it were mixed with softer parts. You know to make the strong parts stand out more. Then again, it could have just been where I was sitting (by the bar of course!). His voice kinda overpowered the piano.

They had a pretty cool theme, which was to imagine this was like a living room, and people could call out and request songs. Which they did, and they knew most of them. Including “fly me to the moon”...... The most popular jazz standard in China.

It's funny, a while back there was this French gypsy jazz band called the Timbermen playing at The House of Blues and Jazz. One night some people requested Fly Me to the Moon and they didn’t know it!

I like that! Good taste!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82