Leonard Cohen : An obituary

in #music7 years ago (edited)

He took me by the hand and he led me to the river. A river of words, as clear as crystal, flowing freely, irrigating my mind, washing the dust off my thoughts.

He made music a poetry and poetry into the sound of a whole generation. Maybe two. He was deep and inspiring and funny and insightful and old and young, all at the same time.

I loved him dearly and I cherished every word of his songs like a treasure. I will miss him. I will miss the thought that he may still come out with something new, that old man with the hat who was always new.

And I should say no more, because he would say that it would be inappropriate.

Rest in peace, Leonard. Or rather, I hope there are pretty women and good guitars where you are now.

image
(Source of image: Wikipedia)

Sort:  

I could not count how many hours of my life have been spent listening to his songs. RIP Leonard.

He will be sorely missed, a true genius poet.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.80 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 11 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you for your beautiful words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01