Home Studios Rock!

in #music8 years ago (edited)

My buddy Phil wanted to build a music studio in his home,

9Studiocameradownload74088f51.jpg

(probably so he wouldn't be one of those having to drive home at the end of a night of jamming out, lol).

10Studiocameradownload7412fd75.jpg

But we're all glad he went ahead with the project (I helped him!). He did all kinds of research on how to get the best sound in the studio. And how to keep the sound in there, not spreading out to neighbors who might try to bust in the doors, pitchforks in hand, come 3 or 4 in the morning :-)

Optimized-1Studiocameradownload73262d3a.jpg

It became our exquisite musical getaway place to spend weekend evenings. Thanks Phil!

Optimized-2Studiocameradownload733-3eedda.jpg

That's an electric fireplace on the wall on the right. Very cozy on winter nights (although often it rapidly became hot enough in the room from musician's body heat to need a beer break and an open door.

Optimized-3Studiocameradownload734-28be7d.jpg

The aesthetics were superb,

Optimized-8Studiocameradownload73952069.jpg

as were the acoustics!

Optimized-13Studiocameradownload744bb7d8.jpg

Optimized-4Studiocameradownload735045e8.jpg

I guess that helping Phil build the place got me the right to my own little tabla corner (with a monitor right beside me so that I could hear myself - it could get awfully loud in there!)

Optimized-6Studiocameradownload737a1bb1.jpg

I think the cloth below is covering our guitarist's secret sauce, because he sure knew how to make magic!

Optimized-7Studiocameradownload7433760e.jpg

The mic below was for anyone wanting to shinny up and belt out some vocals.

11Studiocameradownload7425d0da.jpg

The studio is still there, getting better and better each year, for any of you who want to drop by Phil's place on a Friday or Saturday night and jam!

7Studiocameradownload738a16ef.jpg

If you saw the old room that we rented, above a store downtown, where we used to have our jam sessions - you would know how much we appreciate Phil's initiative. Thanks Phil!

See my other new post:
Scratch That Off My Bucket List! https://steemit.com/photography/@onceuponatime/scratch-that-off-my-bucket-list

Sort:  

Oh Wow that cools so cool! Looks like you'll have a great time jamming there! :D

It was a lot of fun. But I've retired from music to do crypto full time (like, 14 hours a day, 7 days a week), at least until it clears the runway and takes off :-)

Haha! I like how you put it! :D

I'm in the same boat as you. Spending most of my time around crypto related work these days. Hopefully it'll do some good in the near future. :)

This is very cool! How long did it take to make this amazing room?

well, one answer is forever - because it is always being improved upon. There is a lot more equipment in there now than you see in the pictures in this post. To get the room to the level you see in this post was about a year. There are many layers of different kinds of sound-proofing in the walls that all took time. And the sound baffles (the black panels on the walls) had to be made and tested out to get good acoustics in the room. Placement of speakers, amps, and mics to prevent feedback and to optimize sound quality all took time. Things like that.

Looking again at this room, I can say that it worth the whole work and time spent to make it so great. I can only say congratulations!

Wow! I want one too!

Even the longest journey begins with the first step :-)

Lol. I already have quite a few instruments I just need a spare room!

And a way to do away with your neighbours!

That must be so much fun!

It really was.

So many great memories in Phil's studio... Thank you so very much for sharing this piece of history of our musical journeying all together and for the invitation to have more jams in there too. All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

"High as a kite, if you want to. Faster than light, if you want to"
Moody Blues

I forgot to post it yesterday along with the comments but here it is finally, a newer look version of Phil's studio:

WeatheredElelmentsinPhilsStudio8f6a9.jpg

I think that we should try to come up with a name for Phil's Studio.
How about "Palace of Ethereal Delights"?

I would have to agree, but now we'd need extra Oriental decoration to fit the name even more appropriately. Maybe you'd have the necessary artefacts to deal with this matter? ;) You get a full 100% upvote for the naming+2 thumbs up!!!

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

So cool.. I want it too!

How badly do you want it? Phil worked outdoors at 40 to 60 degrees below zero in northern Alberta winters building ice bridges to earn the money to pay for it!

maybe not that much haha.. For now I have guitar, small amplifier and my room. :)

a dream to have one

Dreams can come true. Phil's did!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59