Christmas Memory

in #music6 years ago (edited)

The best Christmas memories I have of my childhood all involve thoses time I was with my Grandmother. It was not Christmas until we all congregated at my grandmothers and sat down to eat a homemade meal that she had spent the whole week preparing.
I used to help her sometimes as she would knead the dough to make the pasta of choice for that year, either tagliatele, cavatelli, or gnocchi.
I used her help her garden all the time and she would show me all her little gardening secrets. She loved a glass of wine with every meal including breakfast! I remember when I got older I would love going to her house to have breakfast because I would always get this little Dixie cup of her home made wine.
Anyway - she passed at 92 years old right at the turn of the millennium. I wrote this song back then as a gift for all my family members to remember her. I pull it out and listen to it every year in the weeks before Christmas.
I thought I would make it my first post here.
Happy Holidays all!!

Sort:  

Such a wonderful and emotional song knowing the relationship you had with your grandmother, I am sure she watches down with joy and pride each time you listen to this

Welcome to Steemit tip!

Thats awesome. I was the exact same way and even know there not there you can still remember the smell of there house and all the noise going on around the house over the holidays. great write up.

Yup the smell of cooking in the holiday cold gets me all the time. Thanks!

My Gran died when I was five and this is one of my greatest regrets :( Happy that you got to share such wonderful times with yours. Great song and to be sure she is by your side. Happy Christmas xox

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84