You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing DSound: a decentralized sound platform using STEEM and IPFS

in #music7 years ago

As soon as DTube came out I started my stopwatch waiting for DSound - you worked fast! Of course DTube could just have supported what you are doing directly by allowing an audio-only file upload. Or a file where the video portion is blank or fixed, perhaps with closed-caption subtitle stream only - that would be good for karaoke fans. And you could do the same - audio file with synchronised lyrics - I'm sure there is a standard for this.

Anyway, one thing I think you have missed is a way for artists to claim their content. This is equivalent of the Steemit community (and bot) suppression of content or users that are plagiarism. I'd feel much more inclined to police plagiarism (not counting fair use) if I knew that doing so allowed the bonafide content creators to collect their dues. We shouldn't like posting of copyright material as-is any more than we like people who just copy and paste popular content on Steemit hoping to ride the upvote love of our fellow Steemians. That's especially true if it is copied without attribution.

For instance will there be an @cheetah bot on DSound? That's effectively what YouTube and others do, except it is a much, much more aggressive bot with total-kill teeth and no mercy (or understanding of fair-use).

Without some of these things, and without support of original content creators you're in store for a legal nightmare I think. But I still applaud your efforst - I think Steem has really shown we don't need centralized media platforms, although to be honest I think the 7-day limit is pretty unfair. I'd much rather see a staged compensation scheme such that content a year old that suddenly gets discovered later on in its life can still generate revenue for the OP and those that discover it.

Sort:  

Thanks for your support! :) I think that there will always be people doing bad things in every platform. What I don't agree is treating everyone like a criminal just because some are! I didn't give this subject much thought because my first and most important purpose is to develop a platform that empowers creators to get the rewards they deserve, without any third-party deciding if they will be stars or homeless artists. Besides that, since DSound is distributed and I don't control any of the content of it, I will not be able to do any filtering. The community will have to understand that and when they see some content that is not correct they should flag it. If crime doesn't compensate, the criminals will go away by themselves! :)

I definitely didn't mean to say everyone posting there would be a criminal. I can really see how this would work for small time content producers who would be ovejoyed to make a few hundred $ or even less from a track. But other commercial artists who we know are making thousands if not millions per track will not be happy and could never make anything like that on Steemit. To them it doesn't matter if the copyright infringing posts never make a penny because of flagging, the damage is done.

But yes, for the small time guys, this could really help.

Best, I like your way of thinking. Too many crooks and assholes out there in the music industry.

Thanks! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55