Travel Tunes Tuesday

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I was walking on the streets of Beşiktaş, Istanbul when I heard the most beautiful sound drift towards my ears.

I looked up above me and noticed that there was a small dance club a few stories up. Well, it's more like a pub, but we danced a lot. It's called Efsane, and if you're ever in Istanbul, you should go!!

Obviously, I had to go inside and dance immediately.

I had one of my best nights in Turkey while dancing at that place. I made some Turkish friends there... all because of music!

Here's a horrible picture from that night:

Music is the one true universal language. You don't have to understand what it says to feel something move inside you. You don't have to understand to know that it sounds good. You don't have to understand the words to do silly dances with strangers.

The ended up talking through google translate when we needed a dance break. I'm sad because I used Shazaam for all of the songs I liked...but they didn't transfer over from my old phone 😟. So, if anyone has any fun Turkish songs to share...I'd love that!!!!!!

One of my favorite parts of travel is the new music I hear. And, 5 years later, if I listen to the same song, it takes me right back to where I was when I first heard it. I feel the same way I first felt. I could listen to my favorite music on repeat forever.

So, I thought it might be cool for us to share our favorite songs with each other! I was the queen of burning mixed CDs for my friends back in the day.

This can be the new version of that. Only I'll give you links to the youtube version instead 😄

I want to start a new tag.

It's my first time, so I don't know if I'm doing this right (that's what she said?).

I'll call it #traveltunes

It's all about songs we heard while traveling and remind you of your trips. Or, favorite songs that come from your country. Or from other countries that you like because you love that culture and want to learn about it. Or, good music that you like to put on your travel playlist.

I like to know other people's cultures through music.

So, here are the guidelines for this tag:

🌍 On Tuesdays, make a post with #traveltunes somewhere
in the tags (doesn't have to be the first one).

🌍 Post a link to your 3 favorite songs from your country or that you
heard while traveling (you can do more if you want).

🌍 Tell us a little bit about why you like the song/ where you heard
it, etc. Doesn't have to be long.

It'll be an awesome way to find out about new music and connect with each other! I love music from around the world and connecting with music tastes. Maybe we can turn it into a contest if someone wants to help me do that!

Happy #TravelTunes Tuesday!

Here are some of mine:

1. Kevin Florez- Con Ella

This song is Champeta, a type of music that’s specific to the coastal areas of Colombia! I’d never heard Champeta before going to Colombia and can I just say I’m in love? This song reminds me of dancing in Colombia every single night of the week when I was there a few years ago. I can't hear it without getting happy!

2. Mana ft. Prince Royce- El Verdadero Amor Perdona

I love this. It means "True Love Forgives." There is an original version without Prince Royce, but I like this one better. I heard of Mana through an Argentinian friend, which is weird 'cause they're from Mexico.

3. Shanti Dope - Mau feat. PutapettyWap

This one is from the Philippines! I thought of this one because it happened to be in a video I posted in my last entry, so thought I'd put the link to it here. This song makes me dance just like the first one. I want to learn to Tagalog, so I'm trying to hit up the Filipino music right now. My best Filipino friend shared this with me, and we have some good memories dancing to this on one of our trips!

What are some of your favorite #traveltunes ?

I will try to upvote everyone with the tag #traveltunes.

P.S. Thanks to every single person who already is following me. I try to show love to all of you. I want you to know I appreciate every single one of you!

Sort:  

Hey nomadicsoul,

When did you visit Turkey and how was your stay there? I might visit Turkey this summer.
I have planned a lot of things to do and eat there :)

Wah! Good idea. I'm doing this right now.

Thanks for letting us know at the discord of #traveltunes Tuesday. :) I almost missed this one! Been so busy

No problem. I posted my #traveltunes as well.

YAY I'm so excited! I'm in a meeting right now...supposed to be paying attention butttt I'm writing you instead. Lol when I get home, I can't wait to check out your songs!

I love your idea! I don't usually listen to my own playlist when traveling because I like hearing the sounds and music of the place. Even of I don't understand it, it would speak to my heart and soul!

Btw, I haven't listened to the videos you've shared. I'm at work and forgot my earphones. I'm curious what that one from the Philippines is. I'm not aware of that one! :D Will listen when I get home :)

Yay I'm glad you like it! I wasn't sure if I explained it right. I think the one in the Philippines has bad words! Just warning you! I don't understand most of it so it doesn't count for me though haha

I just listened to it lol it's a kinda naughty song :D but the way they sang it sounds artistic haha the naughty message is a bit subtle. I like the rhythm though!

Haha good my dad can't understand it either... He would not be proud haha

Just hope your dad doesn't learn those Tagalog words :D

Cool idea my friend...now you've got me thinking! Be happy & smile often my friend :)

I'm thinking too... I wanted to post 20 songs at once haha

So many happy memories. made even more special with the perfect soundtrack...love this idea, leave it with me, I maybe some time! ;)

Next Tuesday?

Yeah! Also today if it's Tuesday for you. Even if it's Wednesday. Lol it gets confusing on steemit because people are from different time zones!

I'm so excited! I can't wait to hear the songs you share!

wow, that is amazing :) Istanbul is one of the great city of Turkey. i wish to once visit of Turkey. :)

I hope you can! I really enjoyed it. Thanks for following!

amazing i also like this type of song lovely

I'm glad you like this style of music!

I don't really understand your language but music is life all form of it make sense

I love music. It connects people no matter what the language :)

Music has such strong power and influence on each individual it's so cool! Just imagine Bob Marley connected enemies through music!

oh wow I didn't know that! It's stronger than I thought!!!

Oo interesting! I actually learned to speak half of Spanish through songs. Even though I didn't understand them, they clicked with me. Girl I love your blog, keep posting!

Aw thanks!!!! Anytime I feel discouraged, I'll just keep re-reading this comment and it'll give me the motivation to keep going! Thank you!

unbelievable to see you speeding like a bullet train here on steemit. wow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43