Music I have been listening to (August 2017)

in #music7 years ago

Whatsup!

I'm pretty wrecked from work and in the midst of a move to the Blighty, which I am excited about. The last few weeks I have had time for myself and apart from organising my big move, I focused on drawing and music. I have always been very inspired by music and I always like to share some, so here are some songs I have been bumping and will continue to listen to this month.


MTMBO - The Hills
MTMBO is an artist from London, that's all there is to know about him appearantly on the interwebs. He was featured on Colors, a video channel based in Berlin, with a live set and the song is incredible. The YT commentary quickly reverts to pointing out similarities of James Blake, which I understand, but I feel MTMBO (with this song at least) oozes way more soul and songwriting skills and has less of the experimental nature that typifies mr Blake, which isn't a bad thing.. Enjoy!


Syd - All About Me
I am slowly becoming more obsessed with Syd the Kid. She's a sound engineer from Odd Future (as made famous by Tyler, The Creator) and started her own band called The Internet where she does the main vocals, apart from some production (great name, their first album was nominated for a Grammy award, great bandmembers too - especially Steve Lacy) and this year dropped her first solo project called Fin. All of her musical projects have so much integrity I feel, from the production to the lyrics. I feel like she's on a very magical musical journey and as everything but afraid to produce, produce and produce. Extremely musical, talented, experimental and best of all stays true to herself along the way.


Steve Lacy - Some
Steve is the guitarist of Syd's the Internet. He's 19 years old (and was 17 when he coproduced The Internet's album that was nominated for a Grammy, to which his reaction is: oh, yeah, whatever!), half Filipino (yay, South East Asian!) and makes all of his music on his iPhone - all of it. He loves Mac deMarco and you can clearly sense a hippy MdM vibe in the songs he's put out in his self proclaimed demo. So fucking talented already.


Sonder - Too Fast
Sonder is: Brent Faiyaz, Atu and Dpat. See I don't know anything about Atu and Dpat but the few songs I have heard from Brent are INCREDIBLE. I like the production of this video too - and the song, I still can't place where it is on the influence board. It's just really nice.


Daniel Caesar - Get You
Featuring Kali Uchis. Daniel is from Canada. That's pretty much all I know. Kali is affliated with Tyler, I think. Anyway, I have mixed feelings about the 90s inspired VHS video, but the song is solid. Very sexy, somehow!


IAMDDB - Back Again
A little less refined and mature then all the aforementioned artists, IAMDDB is from Manchester, UK, daughter of a vocalist and is just putting out so much DIY stuff out on YT, it's cool. I like the improv vibe.


ABRA - Pull Up
Born in the UK, raised in ATL, Abra blew up last year I feel. She does much of the production herself and also directed this video. It's interesting to follow the direction she's going to, I feel a sort of young frustrated MIA vibe from her (though more as a visionary, musically they are from totally different worlds) I feel that she is here to stay and that we might see a lot of different and weird things in the near future.

Enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74