You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Music: Six from the Sixties – A Challenge!

in #music6 years ago

That's a great challenge! Funnily enough I was thinking about Diana Ross a couple of days ago. Her voice is inimitable and she has real A-list star quality, a rare thing these days. I've never heard that song though - quite a strange one.
Your daughter seems like a sensible girl! She's probably absorbed some of your music taste. I don't think it's that the music is bad these days, it's the type of stuff that gets played on the radio – mostly gimmicky, sexualised but totally unfeeling garbage IMO. Or it's sung in that whiny almost crying, pleading type voice – urgh. Either way, it has me reaching for the OFF switch.

Sort:  

Or it's sung in that whiny almost crying, pleading type voice – urgh

I know what you mean! The X-Factor voice..., I wrote something about this once..., everyone sounds the same and if you don't have that voice.. your off.

My daughter is a typical teen, rebellious and strong willed. She has these breaks when she's not such as pain and comes to talk to me usually about music. It doesnt last long.

I used to really admire Adele's voice, and then she started doing that whiny singing too! Urgh.
Actually there is one radio station that plays contemporary music that I like. I'd forgotten about it because I can't play it in the car. It's BBC 6Music. Not only do they play a great selection of oldies, but they also play new releases that I love. But I only have one digital radio set, and I can't even get that to receive many stations. However I recently I found that if I put it into a certain position I can listen to 6Music loud and clear.

I could do with something different in the car, Ill try and remember your recommendation.. thanks!

You need a digital audio device to listen to 6Music. Or wifi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66989.66
ETH 3120.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75