You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Genesis’ - The Collins Years Part Two

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I know 'Mama' - yes, that evil laugh! But I hadn't heard the other three tracks. Not sure about the first one, but I love Domino and Fading Lights. I never disliked Genesis - I just wasn't really into them so I've a lot of catching up to do.
I think there was a lot of division in music in the 80s - it was almost political! If you were into punk and "New Wave" you had to hate prog rock and anything related to it. And you had to hate anything that was considered inferior or mainstream pop, which included Phil Collins. I was into "New Wave", but I loved Face Value, and it was a bit like crossing a political divide!
I think Phil Collins got a double dose of hate because so many Peter Gabriel fans took out their anger on him too. Weird times.
I'm sure he was crying all the way to the bank, haha.

Sort:  

I loved the Punk / New Wave stuff too and Genesis, is this strange?

No - it's quite normal! It's just the 80s that were strange.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35