Jay-Z opens can of worms... starts naming influences, spends whole night on Twitter (well... an hour at least!)

in #music7 years ago (edited)


rappers.jpg

Juggling act

The most recent inductee into the Songwriters Hall of Fame, Jay-Z got himself into a twitter pickle last night. Like many fathers-to-be, Jay-Z is a man with a lot on his plate. His wife, Beyonce is due to drop twins any day now and the rap legend is so busy he couldn't even make it to the ceremony to accept the award.

It could all be so simple...

Not wanting to appear ungrateful, the 'Hard Knock Life' rapper decided to take to Twitter to pay homage to some rappers that inspired him,


jayz-nas-tweet.jpg

"Thank you to all the people that have inspired me . Rakim KANE KRS chuck cube Jaz Em Andre Nas big PAC cole kendrick chance jayE ..wait,"

What should have be a simple exercise, suddenly became more involved as Mr Carter realised the rappers he missed off the 140 character tweet.

But you'd rather make it hard...

So Jay decided to issue another tweet,


jayz-tweet2.jpg

"Lauryn Nicki lite latifah common ye drake and meek . Run caz LL chainz cam tip (both of them) thought pharaoh , face . De la . Ice T. Wait"

And then the floodgate of Jay-Z tweets opened, thanking every rapper and his dog,


jayz-rickross-tweet.jpg

"G Rap .Mel . Kurupt . Lox. X . Q. Ab lupe. Mos. Foxy. Boss . Ross. Quavo Future Travis too many fuck this. All you!T grizzley song best out"


jayz-busta-tweet.jpg

"Shit did I say redman ? Ghost and Rae . Wu tang I beat Genius in a rap battle I think ha . Busta (him too) Treach . Thug . B a rapper too!"


jayz-lilwayne-tweet.jpg

"Shit ...Wayne , Juve BG Nipsey . Kim . Slaughterhouse (yes mouse too ha) Folarin MC eiht . Short . 40 . Mac dre this shit hard .Never mind"

Interlude...

It seemed at this point that Jay-Z had realised the error of his way (or maybe he was called away to attend to fatherly duties)...


interlude1.jpg

"Somebody find that reply I just hit please . I'm new on this . Anyway salute to anybody who made a song to feed their family or just vent ."

Lost ones...

However he was soon back on the roll-call thanking rappers he had forgotten,


jayz-50-tweet.jpg

"Fuck ..50 cent big L sho ag nice and smooth Joe and pun . diggable butterfly esp...beanie young chris freeway SP okay for real this time ."


jayz-jezzy-tweet.jpg

Fuck haa. Naw for real .Pastor Jeezy my partner . Okay I'm done . I'm deleting this app in the morning . Shit is impossible to get right.

In blood so far stepp'd...


jayz-goes-on.jpg

Jay really really should have stopped there but he had come so far, as you might guess the tweets continued...


jayz-pushat-tweet.jpg

I promise I'm not drunk . Lord Pusha . Carti (Magnolia incredible)ASAP Sean P , Mobb , cudi . Tyler , earl, Snoop!!( almost played myself)

Although Jay claimed he was not drunk, he certainly seemed high on the occasion as he sent this tweet out about former President Barack Obama,


jayz-barackobama-tweet.jpg

And the greatest rapper of all time OBAMA . Thank you 44


jayz-bigsean-tweet.jpg

Wait . Slick fucking Rick . Pimp C and bun . Wow . I just realized how many fresh people the culture has . Big Sean . Sauce money .

Encore...


jayz-fab-tweet.jpg

Too many ..Fab , black people really magic . Mac Miller nice too though .

That was some shout-out!

Expect a string of diss songs headed Jay-Z's way from rappers that feel slighted at having been missed off!

It might have been quicker (and easier) for Jay to have gone to the awards and accept the award in person!

Sort:  

Attempting to reel off a homage to the pioneers of rap in one simple tweet wasn't the wisest of moves, lol. But then his intentions I'm sure weren't to offend so I hope he doesn't get too much flak for it, lol!

Still, Jay-Z himself is an industry defining talent so the source itself resounds legendary status. The world of social media, eh? The simplest of things can soon become tomorrow's headline news!

Thanks for the great post, @nanzo-scoop. Much respect! :)

This here is too funny. normally J keeps it together.

Definitely think he is one of the smarter rappers! But this is hilarious, it made my day

Without a doubt. Ill call listen to Reasonable Doubt now lol

Thank god I can rely on Steemit for the Twitter update! 😂
Maybe it's a supergroup roll call for "We Are The World" remix??? :)
Did he shout out your favorites, @nanzo-scoop?
He missed Jurassic 5...

Well... the way he was going I was expecting MC Hammer and Vanilla Ice to get a mention!!

I figured I get the evidence on the blockchain... it can't be censored (or deleted) like Twitter!

I had a swell time reading those tweets. Typical example of "Don't start what you can't finish" 😂 It was cool of Jay tho.

Wait a second, he missed Rodney O & Joe Cooley AND the Fat Boys!!! Now I'm pissed! :)

This is one of the best things I've ever seen! The shout out to Mac Dre is legendary, thizz is what it is mayne!

Jay Z reminds me of Kayne West - but I can't honestly say I have any affinity for either one.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)A really good read thank you for sharing

my president is black, my lambo is blue ...

Seem like the longer the Post, the more followers and money...
@pocketechange

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95