NUJABES – An Appreciation Post

in #music6 years ago

Hello Steemit!

I am one of those people who are at their best at night, late nights specifically. I like working from midnight till a wee before dusk. During one of those late nights, I discovered Nujabes and little did I know about the amazing work he did. This is an appreciation post for the late musician. Words are less to describe his work, but we can try!

1.jpg

Jun Seba, popularly known as Nujabes (his name spelled backwards), was a producer, composer and a DJ. He was born in central Tokyo, Japan. He focussed on instrumental mixes, which varied from hip-hop to jazz. He had released three studio albums, Metaphorical Music (2003) and Modal Soul (2005). The third album was posthumously released and is called Spiritual State (2011).

1.png

1.jpg

Nujabes produced the soundtrack for the anime series Samurai Champloo in 2004. Though I always liked Samurai Champloo’s soundtrack, back then I didn’t pay much attention to who produced it. I was listening to one of the chill hip-hop playlists on YouTube, when a few songs struck out to me. On checking the composer, I got to know that it was Nujabes who produced it. As I listen to his music right now while typing this, his laidback hip-hop beats that carry jazz influences is a pleasure to listen to. It doesn’t require much attention and effort, one can always relax and sit at ease while enjoying his music. Unfortunately, I discovered Nujabes when he was no longer with us, but his music never fails to comfort me keep me company.

1.jpg

Here are a few of my favourites songs that can be found on YouTube:

Feather (feat. Cise Starr & Akin)
Aruarian Dance
Spiritual State (ft. Uyama Hiroto)
Island (ft. Uyama Hiroto and Haruka Nakamura)
Beauty (Distant.Io)

1.jpg

I hope you enjoy his work! If you have any music recommendations, feel free to drop a comment below. Thanks for reading and have a great day ahead!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47