EMINEM - The Literary Genius

in #music8 years ago

Genius… Most would say that word is over used… and it probably is.. Everybody’s a genius right?? Although that may be true, there is still no doubt in my mind there are a large number of geniuses. This is is because...there are all types of genius, truly. To me even a a man who works construction could labeled “genius” depending on the amount of skill he has in his craft… Just as I believe a rocket scientist could be an idiot if he is ignorant with his decision making…. Tricky isn’t it…

EMINEM. We all know who he is. Hes that American icon. What makes Eminem such a literary genius? Could I persuade you that this man could stand next to Shakespeare? And Hemingway? Im sure many in the older generations would disagree. But maybe not if they give it a chance..

Looking at Eminems writings from a literary standpoint you’d be amazed at the things you find… Eminems lyrics are filled with muli-syllable-rhyme-schemes, so complex, that the worlds greatest poets could never imagine reaching his level of “word play”. Prove it? Ok I will...

Lets take a a look at these lyrics from the song “Till I Collapse”

NOTE: I have labeled all internal / external rhymes with BOLD LETTERS

"Till I collapse I’m spilling these raps long as you feel 'em

Till the day that I drop you'll never say that I'm not killing them

'Cause when I am not then I'ma stop pinning 'em

And I am not hip-hop and I’m just not Eminem."


55 total syllables 

22 total ryhme combinations…

Lets do another!! 

Everyone knows this one "Lose Yourself" - 

"His palms are sweaty, knees weak, arms are heavy

There's vomit on his sweater already, mom's spaghetti

He's nervous, but on the surface he looks calm and ready

To drop bombs, but he keeps on forgettin'

What he wrote down, the whole crowd goes so loud

He opens his mouth, but the words won't come out

He's chokin', how, everybody's jokin' now

The clocks run out, times up, over, blow!"


91 total syllables 

40 rhyme combinations


Almost every other syllable rhymes…not only while making logical sense but also while creating a plot, suspense, and a climax.. Amazing really..

What makes else Eminem a genius? Well take a look at these drawings he made of spiderman when he was just a kid!!..

Crazy that he’s that good at drawing…This shows his brains ability to endure difficult tasks for extended periods of time...Perhaps the mark of a true genius??

It its clear Eminems artistic abilities are impressive. He is the master of rhyme similar to how Einstein was the master of science. For some people things just “click”. And that is exactly what happened when Eminem began to write rap music…

I will be writing more hip hop articles. Please follow me if you think you might by interested thanks!!


Sort:  

I agree completely. It's not even just the rhymes and the structure, he's got this amazing balance of sharp wit and incredibly intense emotion. In some of his songs, he's not just rapping, he's creating a story and acting it out and making you feel it too, all with these surprising word combinations. I think he's amazing. Awesome article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63