Album Talk #3: Teebs - Ardour

in #music6 years ago

The acclaimed Los Angeles producer's debut album showcases the blissful side of beat-making


Year: 2010

Genre Tags: Experimental Hip-Hop, Electronic, Futurebeats, Ambient


Released in 2010 on Flying Lotus' Brainfeeder record label, Ardour is the first full-length effort by Mtendere Mandowa, AKA Teebs. Spanning 18 tracks, the album is a collage of brightly colored sonic experiments. It takes the listener on a hazy, celestial journey, drifting from one relaxed groove to the next. At just under an hour's length, this dreamy music is ideal for lounging and vibing-out.

Mtendere Mandowa began his creative journey as a painter. And much like the abstract qualities of Mandowa's visual art (including Ardour's psychedelic cover), his music is tough to pin down. Warped, unidentifiable sounds are found throughout this record. At times, instruments like pianos, harps, and acoustic guitars can be discerned, but what's here is mostly synthetic. That's not to say that the album is cold. It's impressive to hear just how warm and organic these tracks are. The album's fantastic opener "You've Changed" bubbles to life like a flower blossoming in a golden meadow. "Lakeshore Ave." features a sampled piano loop that gradually morphs into psychedelic waves of sound. It's easy to get lost in these lovely, otherworldly textures.

Ardour's laid-back atmosphere mixes exceptionally well with its off-kilter grooves. Much like his contemporaries on the Brainfeeder label, Teebs enjoys the wonky aspects of beat-making. His percussion clangs and bumps, hops and skips, hiccups and skitters about. It's playful and unhurried, with just enough energy to keep your head bobbing. The track "Wind Loop" has a tumbling, staggered beat that is paired with some of the prettiest tones found on the whole album. "While You Doooo" contains an irresistible groove that, while only a minute and a half long, makes it one of the most memorable tracks here. The album's closer "Autumn Antique" is infectiously bouncy and makes for a perfect send-off. 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Eight years since its release, Ardour still sounds incredibly fresh and inspired. It's a record that guides us through a strange but heavenly world of grooves. A debut album with this consistency is an impressive feat. Teebs is a gifted artist who understands how to harness a distinct style. His attention to detail resulted in a delicate, shimmery record that continues to be a standout in experimental beat music.

Recommended for fans of: Flying Lotus, Nosaj Thing, Baths, Lapalux


What do you guys think of this record? Have you listened to it? What are some of your favorite electronic beat albums/artists? Please share your thoughts, I'd love to hear them!

Stream it here.


*Artist image source, gatefold image source.

Sort:  

Excellent album review my dude I've heard the name Teebs but haven't listened to his stuff. The "While You Doooo" groove is indeed irresistible. I'm gonna hop on the steemit album review train too I haven't done one yet.

Thanks man! He's really great. Hasn't done a lot lately that I'm aware of though.. Hoping that changes.

Please do! I think this platform could use more album reviews. I personally love reading them and would definitely like to see what you would choose to review.

Yea definitely gonna do some. Now that you mention it, people don't do full album reviews that often. I guess because it takes time to sit down and seriously go through it all. But I feel the artist intended their work to be viewed as a whole so it's doing them justice

It definitely takes me more time and critical thinking to write these reviews than, say, my mountain articles. But these review posts are very satisfying to complete. :)

It's definitely satisfying when you crank something out you're proud of. Can't wait until we are whales and we KNOW the hard work will get rewarded. until then, we keep grinding!

Can't believe it's been 8 years since this hit. I was a big fan of Brainfeeder at the time and this album was a real highlight from their catalog. Collections 1 is really worth checking out as well. It's a good expansion on this album.

Almost a decade. It blows my mind too. Sadly (and maybe this is just me) I feel like the beat scene hasn't done a whole lot in the past couple of years. At least nothing that's caused me to turn my head much. I also own Collections 1 and enjoy it. I have his other full length album Estara as well, but that one never really did much for me. That was back in 2014 and I haven't heard anything from Teebs since.

I didn't even realize he had another album. I always got the impression from him that his music was second to his painting and it doesn't shock me too much that he would focus on that. I agree with you though, about the time Trap made it's rise into the mainstream it has felt like that "LA bass scene" style music has gone by the wayside. Everynow and then I'll hear something catch my attention, but only very rarely and usually from FlyLo or Nosaj Thing. Kind of a shame. I remember how much seeing FlyLo live changed my perspective on my own music at the time.

Oh yeah man, I've been lucky enough to see a lot of the experimental-beat artists live (FlyLo, Nosaj Thing, Shlohmo, Shigeto, etc.) and they really do all put on great shows and have made incredible music. I'd never made the connection before, but I think you made a good point when you said that trap music seems to have pushed alot of this stuff to the sidelines. It's pretty interesting to see how ubiquitous trap is now. I remember years ago everyone was convinced that dubstep had so much staying power... Just look at the state of that genre these days. Meanwhile trap kind of snuck up and now largely commands the hip hop landscape.

Also thanks for commenting sir! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64249.62
ETH 3184.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48