Some sweet music to use on your Christmas or children video!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

Christmas is in the air: time for me to fire up the Christmas music I produced in the studio!

The first one I am presenting on Steemit is a beautiful adaptation of a famous Christmas tune, “Away in a manger”. 

Melodic harmonies were re-written and lead instruments (Piccolo, Chinese Ehru, pizzicato) chosen carefully to enhance the emotional impact. The feel good flavor and the calm serenity that emanates from that piece makes it an ideal soundtrack for your Christmas videos or children programs.


It has been a little more than a month that I am on Steemit, and I am quite amazed by the number of applications being developed or activities on-going. So, I will attempt to provide my little contribution to Steem-based business by exploring Steem-based music licensing.

To start off, I propose to offer a perpetuity royalty free license for the use of this track on your video for just 25 Steems or SBDs. There are 5 extra versions available (30s, 60s, short version, verse only, underscore). You can get them and use them all for 40 Steems or SBDs (This offer includes the main track). Licenses are valid for one project only


Interested? Transfer the right amount to @muphy adding in the memo section, the name of the track and an email address. I will use Wetransfer to email you the files in mp3 (320) and Wav (16B, 44.1kHz). 

If you want to check other tracks, feel free to visit the Christmas and children music playlist listing all Christmas tracks available for licensing :
https://soundcloud.com/synaptic-machines/sets/children-and-christmas-music

Image Credits: Illustration of the manger and components for the friezes: Pixabay.com

Hi,
I’m @muphy,
My life revolves around music production, teaching sciences, and discovery through travel.
You enjoyed that post?    Resteem and Upvote!
You are interested in these topics?    Follow me!

Sort:  

Dear Murphy, I really like your music and do not want to rain on your parade. I offer this opinion with the intent of helping you with what you're trying to achieve here. The basic idea is great!

I have bought a lot of music in my day and feel you're not competitive. While the quality is excellent, you're pricing yourself right out of the market. All the more so because of the one-project-limit. Far be it from me to list your competitors on your own blog, but I suggest you do a bit more research before spinning your wheels too much.

Remember, Steem is real money because people believe it to be; after all, it can be converted to Euros (in my case). I hope I didn't overstep and wish you the best of luck with your project.

Thank you @folker-wulff for this great feedback! I am glad you appreciated the music.

I have already been selling licenses to my music for quite a few years now, through conventional platforms. And that at much higher prices (for this track, from a factor 1,5 up to 4). I am making a fraction of my living from this activity, so I guess it is working. Like many of my fellow composers, I refuse to present my work on the race to the bottom "shitty" sites, that take 65% of commission and at the same destroy the independent music business (you might be referring to such offering...).

I really love the Steemit idea, this is why I significantly lowered the prices for Steemians. I am developing the idea for multi-project license, for probably double the fee. I am also reflecting for licenses on personal videos (<5k views), at a 50% discount on the license. But I didn't want to flood my first post on the topic with business propositions!

The thing is that the quality comes at the price of hours of work, investment in equipment and software and also years of studying sound engineering. So I prefer not racing to the bottom, or I would just do something else to pay my rent.

And to reassure you, no you did not overstep. Actually, I appreciated grandly you jumping in :-) !

I'm a hobby musician myself (keyboards) and well aware of the investment in equipment, the time involved to become good, etc. - and really impressed by your stance of demanding what you're worth or else. As an (almost) lifelong freelancer I can relate, that's the only way to go.

We're not going to discuss your potential competition at length just so I can be right. I take your word for it and I'm glad of your confidence in your product. This is good for Steemit, so it's good for you AND me. More power to you!

BTW, the removal of the one-project limit at twice the price sounds reasonable. After all, it's X-mas every year. I have licensed performance software before and recommend staying away from licensing based on views. Hard to enforce and a hassle. Easier to distinguish commercial and non-commercial context. My 4 cents at half price. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72