Staying Nowhere - A new original song especially for Steemit

in #music7 years ago

https://dsound.audio/#/@mrbloom/staying-nowhere-original-song-especially-for-steemit

I wrote this song a few years ago, whilst sitting on a hill in the Derbyshire countryside, after doing some physical history hunting (metal detecting) thinking how my life had changed so much for the better.

I had finally found THE ONE who embraced me, my music, hyperactive ADD, eccentric behaviours and countless other hobbies.
We managed to create 2 little people too, which was the icing on the cake!
Sure, this sounds very idyllic and cliché etc. But, we've had our ups and downs these past 10 years together, and the kids are sometimes BLOODY HARD WORK!

I guess that I write my best material when reflecting on past events in my life, and compare those challenging times to my now wonderful existence!
I'm finally settled and grounded and concentrating on my music again.
So, onto some info on where my musical journey begun...
I started playing drums at 7 or 8 years old...my dad bought me a kit soon after and I never stopped playing.
He bought this old guitar home one day when I was 14 or so, I took it upstairs, locked my self away for a few days and taught myself how to play it, listening to some of mine and my dads favourite band really inspired me! Led Zeppelin, Wishbone Ash, Hendrix, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Supertramp, Black Sabbath, Cream and Santana...the list is endless.
I've never had an instrumental or vocal lessons and play/compose by ear, I did however, have to learn to read music at 34 when I did my music educators teaching qualifications! I still struggle with sheet music...but understand guitar theory extensively and voicings/dynamics.
I was a session drummer all through my 20's and into my early 30's and frankly got bored to tears of playing the same old set lists night after night, although the money was really good!

I was in an 'originals band' in the 90's, we had some success locally, had a small record deal and management...It was an amazing 6 years and we played some really great venues and met some lovely people along the way too.

So there was just a snippet about me and my music and how I came write 'Staying Nowhere'

Lyrics:

What are the words you say
when you've been broken in two
most of us sit and wait
hoping for somebody new
stayed on your own so long
that you forgot what to do
open your mind up to feelings
and thoughts that are true

Staying nowhere I've been used
to that feeling I'm confused
came back fighting where are you
locked inside of every tune

Packing a bag to go
stay with a friend for a while
constantly wondering
why am I living a lie
things that I should've done
things that I shouldn't really do
senses on overload
take back rewind or you lose

Staying nowhere I've been used
to that feeling I'm confused
came back fighting where are you
locked inside of every tune

Slayed emotions are right
light up my life
fade to the night
hoping to fight
slayed emotions are right
light up my life
fade to the night
hoping to fight

What are the words you say
when you've been broken in two
most of us sit and wait
hoping for somebody new
stayed on your own so long
that you forgot what to do
open your mind up to feelings
and thoughts that are true

Staying nowhere I've been used
to that feeling I'm confused
came back fighting where are you
locked inside of every tune

Thanks for reading and listening!
Kindest
Darren

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63562.42
ETH 2649.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77