A Grumpy Old Man In Search Of New Music

in #music7 years ago

I love music and I have to admit that I over the past few years I have been living in a curmudgeonly cave where the only music that would play would be the stuff that I knew. I would sit on my lawn and yell at the kids to take their new music and get off my grass. In recognition of this grumpy behavior, I have decided that this must change. Recently, I have been stretching my legs and wandering around in search of new tunes. The following may already be old hat to many of you, but perhaps you will find something new to love.

Image Source

Volbeat
I love these guys. A rock/metal band from Denmark formed in 2001. One second your ears are bleeding from a speedy metal riff and the next you are dancing a jig to a Celtic acoustic beat and a couple minutes later they are tearing off some slick blues riffs. I, for one, am chomping at the bit to see them live with Metallica and Avenged Sevenfold.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volbeat

Here's a newer one.

Here's an older one.

Another band that has absolutely blown me away is Kaleo. After hearing the single Way Down We Go, I was interested but not overly impressed. I pulled up their first major offering on Spotify, A/B and nearly fell out of my chair when the first track "No Good" ripped through my headphones. These guys display their blues rock colors as if they were natives of Mississippi and not Iceland.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaleo_(band)

No Good

All The Pretty Girls to give you an idea of how diverse they are.

I am falling in love with these bands coming across the ocean. If you know of any more I should be listening to, shout it out loud. I will check them out.

Sort:  

I went to see them in April last year. They hit Phoenix the day after playing Coachella. They are a great live show. Poulsen has got pipes!!! Base turned up so loud my ribcage was vibrating but he was clear as a bell.
IMG_1134.JPG

I got to see them when they were in Detroit with Avenged Sevenfold and Metallica. Great live show. I was nowhere near as close as you were, but they have a lot of energy and that voice is powerful. I hope they tour the US again, soon.

Good post. I can relate. I like listening to some of the old stuff from my high school and college years, but it does get old, and you want something fresh, even though a lot of new music these days doesn't sound fresh, but really just repackaged and recycled. Some good picks though. I will check them out.

Thanks for the reply!
It is hard to find music that doesn't feel assembly line, but if you keep your ears open then you will definitely find some good bands. Let me know what you think and maybe shoot me some suggestions to listen to.

I'm going to hit Coachella this Spring if they are there. Last chance for me... I'm too old.

Never been, but would like to go. I think I still have a few good years left.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68255.87
ETH 3271.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68