Mork Rock's Playlist - Deftones - My Own Summer

in #music6 years ago

deftones Cover.jpg

Line Break.png

Hey You, Big Star...

We are going a tad bit heavier in this week's playlist song, welcome to Deftones if this is new to your ears.

Firstly I could not mention this band without mentioning that this is one of @princessmewmew best bands ever, and as must as ever bands is always the best one, this is all the way at the top. I think if I remember right, but she was listening to lots of Deftones when I met her. We were really lucky to watch them live a few years ago at a not to big a venue, which makes it so much more personal than say like a stadium gig. And if I recall correctly, this was also her most favorite live show so far in her life.

This song was actually one of the first songs I ever learnt on guitar and also the first song I taught myself to play on drums a few years later. Before I was only into more happy punk and ska punk, I was pretty big into bands like Deftones, Rage, and Korn. When I was growing up I never got into Bon Jovi or the 90's rock vibe, also was not that big into Nirvana and Metallica, I mean I liked them just not as much as music that moved me. There was something about these bands that was very different from what we were used to, and it just resonated with the rebel inside me. This song will always have some pretty amazing memories assassinated with it, also it's just a banger driving song.

Line Break.png


"Deftones is an American alternative metal band from Sacramento, California. Formed in 1988, the band was founded by Chino Moreno (lead vocals, rhythm guitar), Stephen Carpenter (lead guitar), Abe Cunningham (drums) and Dominic Garcia (bass). During the group's first five years, the band's lineup changed several times, but stabilized in 1993 when Cunningham rejoined the group after his departure in 1990; by this time, Chi Cheng was the band's bassist. The lineup remained stable for fifteen years, with the exception of keyboardist and turntablist Frank Delgado being added in 1999. The band is known as one of the most experimental groups to have come from the alternative metal music scene." - Deftones


deftones 02.jpg
source

Line Break.png


Lyrics - My Own Summer

Hey you, big star
Tell me when it's over
Hey you, big mood, guide me to shelter
'Cause I'm through
When the two hits the six and it's summer

Cloud, come (shove it, shove it, shove it)
Shove (shove it, shove it, shove it)
The sun (shove it, shove it, shove it)
Aside (shove it aside)

I think god is moving its tongue
There's no crowd in the streets
And no sun in my own summer
The shade is a tool, a device, a savior
See, I try and look up to the sky
But my eyes burn

Cloud, come (shove it, shove it, shove it)
Shove (shove it, shove it, shove it)
The sun (shove it, shove it, shove it)
Aside (shove it aside)

Cloud, come (shove it, shove it, shove it)
Shove (shove it, shove it, shove it)
The sun (shove it, shove it, shove it)
Aside (shove it aside)

I think god is moving its tongue
There are no crowds in the streets and no sun in my own summer


deftones 03.jpg
source

Here's the link to my very own Playlist

If you liked this, then please follow the link for some more Deftones

Line Break.png

Pass On tag.png

deftones.gif

Thanks for popping in, hope you liked the post. Please leave me your thoughts and or opinions in the comments below, have a beautiful day.

Line Break.png

• For the best posts on food and all things beautiful follow my @princessmewmew

• For those who love the the open road and the road less traveled follow @velimir
• The reason I joined this platform was thanks to one guy, the infamous @jeffberwick
• If you need great stories in your life and a wealth of experience @bigtom13
• For sport, great food and general life hacks this teacher has you covered @broncofan99
• A good laugh and for all things Star Wars follow @thedarksideshow

Line Break.png

untilnexttime 2.png

Line Break.png

Adsactly Banner New.jpg

Proudly powered by ADSactly - click this image above to join our discord server - Make sure to visit our ADSactly Society Steemit blog

Vote @adsactly-witness for your witnesses here.

✯ ✯ ✯

Mork Logo.png

✯ Follow me for more fun ✯

Sort:  

Those lyrics make no sense. 😂 yes I was listening to that a lot when we met, on repeat I think 💓

Holy Cow! A band I know! I was a big fan of the Ramones and Red Hot Chili Peppers and that somehow led me to the Deftones. I've no idea how...

Anyway, nice choice. Thank you for it!

This so makes me think of my niece, she loved the def tones.!

@bigtom13 I love the Ramones too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54