LONDON IN MY HEART pt. 3/5

in #music6 years ago (edited)

The Pink Floyd Exhibition has recently started its 1st tour and can currently be seen in the capital of Italy.
Macro Spazio Expo
ROMA (RM) Mostre from 21/02/2018 to 01/05/2018
https://www.pinkfloydexhibition.com/

IMG_2230.JPG

The crown of my infatuation in London came with 2017 and visiting ‘The Pink Floyd Exhibition: Their Mortal Remains‘, described on internet as:
‘… an immersive, multi-sensory and theatrical journey through Pink Floyd's extraordinary world. A story of sound, design and performance, the exhibition chronicles the music, iconic visuals and staging of the band, from the underground psychedelic scene in 1960s London to the present day, illustrating their groundbreaking use of special effects, sonic experimentation, powerful imagery and social commentary.‘

Each word of this review can be confirmed by my own experience‘s impressions !

IMG_2185.JPG

But don’t let me jump into conclusions too soon…
Let me proceed on my journey step by step in chronological order:
‘Flibco’ bus brought me for 15€ one early morning from the most beautiful city on the river Rhine, Düsseldorf – my hometown for longer than the last quarter of century – to the Airport in Weeze on the Netherland’s border and then ‘RyanAir’ took me over the Channel to Stansted for the trivial price of 10€.
I took the ‘National Line 6’ (£14) to bring me to London – by the way, the nearest located most populated settlement to the Earth’s Heart-Chakra, which is actually centrally located in the area of Glastonbury, Somerset and Shaftesbury, Dorset.

980x.jpg
http://www.higherperspectives.com/the-location-of-earths-7-planetary-chakras-1429984376.html

It took me almost two hours from Stansted Airport to reach the planned destination – Marble Arch bus stop – from where I continued enjoying London’s partly cloudy, but – for mid October a pretty pleasantly warm afternoon – on foot via Oxford and Regent Street to the Piccadilly Circus...

IMG_2142.JPG

...and further towards nearby Leicester Square where I was a little disappointed:
the cult cinema theater where I saw the masterpiece, 'A Clockwork Orange’ in 1973, was torn down and the big hole was awaiting something new to be built at the same corner – I did not bother to ask what – just across the ancient booth where they’re still selling the tickets for actual musicals.

IMG_2813.JPG

In my opinion the whole atmosphere of that square is gone with the wind.

I had a couple of hours more to kill before I was about to appear at the previously agreed appointment in Hampstead, with an old time friend, Svijetlana – previously working as journalist, now as a real-estate manager – who immediately offered me hospitality in her home as soon as I had let her know that I was coming to the exhibition and intended to stay in her town for two or three days. Namely, Svijetlana moved to UK in the early 90s from Podgorica, Montenegro (from early 14th century the name of the town was Ribnica, then in SFRJ/ugoslavia/ Titograd), and is currently living in a cosy apartment with her daughter, Lana, a very talented young designer and musician.
I continued my Walk upon the Path of Memories from Leicester Square to Trafalgar Square, where my attention was caught by an older street musician's gig and I spent some time listening to his beautiful voice...

strassenmusikant.jpg

...and then I proceeded further to the Houses of Parliament, passed the Westminster Abbey and Big Ben, I grazed London Eye and reached the Southbank Centre...
...my mental souvenirs continued to accumulate along the River Thames, all the way up to the Tate Gallery where I once spent such an unusual day with my daughter due to a temporary giant slide installation...

Tate Gallery.JPG

...and crossing over the Golden Jubilee Bridge...

SI854409.JPG

…I found myself passing the Charing Cross Station to Strand, turned right towards Savoy end finally I ended up in Covent Garden.

What an eventful afternoon!

Having found an old oyster-card topped up with £5 I soon mounted up the classic doubledecker – after you pay 1.20 for the first ride the very next one is free of charge and when you spend over 4 Pounds in one day, all further rides are also free – in the direction of Hampstead Heath.

Unknown.jpg

to be continued tomorrow:
'A mutual friend of ours, my dearest, late, Dubravka Dubi Vojvodic, introduced me to Svijetlana while I was still regularly covering the Film Festival in Belgrade – FEST for my ’RTZ’ from the mid 70's to the end of the 80's...'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75