LONDON IN MY HEART (Pt. 2/5)

in #music6 years ago (edited)

The Pink Floyd Exhibition has recently started its 1st tour and can currently be seen in the capital of Italy.
Macro Spazio Expo
ROMA (RM) Mostre dal 21/02/2018 al 01/05/2018
https://www.pinkfloydexhibition.com/

IMG_2188.JPG

It’s green, green and only green as far as my sight can reach and the nuance is so unique that no painter has independently ever managed to produce or faithfully copy something like that–this is the best description I can come up with, regarding Ireland and Scotland, too.
The year is 1978 and my wife and I were leaving Dublin via Belfast for some other kind of green – almost as beautiful as Ireland – Scotland. We wanted to see Loch Ness first, and then via Oban, where we enjoyed visiting the famous neolith cave, in which Atlantis people also left their indelible traces – to get to Glasgow, then Edinburgh and finally, London.

IMG_1341.JPG

IMG_1473.JPG

CIMG3143.JPG

I do not have to say anything about these two weeks that we spent in London, except that I felt like I came home after five years of living abroad and that we took a lot of cultural fuel with us back to Yugoslavia, by attending all actual musicals – from ‘Evita’ with Elaine Page, David Essex and Joss Ackland to ‘Jesus Christ Superstar’ & ‘Rocky Horror Show’, again.

IMG_2808.JPG

Last but not least: I have to apologize for being a (self-declared) smart-ass at that time of my youth and that’s why there are no pics to show – I simply did not bother to bring even my father’s ancient perfect Altix-camera with me on that journey, thinking the stock in my head would be sufficient.
So, please be patient until I eventually post the photos & the text about Scotland, where I happened to be a very frequent guest lately, trying to turn my grandson Arik – from the earliest age to become a passionate ‘Globetrotter’ – the world-traveller.

2017-04-06-PHOTO-00010683.jpg

2017-04-06-PHOTO-00010680.jpg

Finally, I started to pay more frequent visits to London from the middle of the first decade in this century when my daughter moved there, firstly to make an MA at the Royal Holloway University and then to work as a film, TV and ad-producer.

CIMG4458.JPG

IMG_2165.JPG

The highlight of this period was absolutely the 25th Anniversary concert of my favourite group 'Asia', at Shepherd's Bush, whereat last I met in person my all time idol, the best musician of all times, unfortunately to become too soon the late – John Wetton.

CIMG3307.JPG

CIMG3282.JPG

CIMG3235.JPG

I also took the opportunity to walk around London, to visit Zero Meridian, to see the famous ‘Fame’ musical among others, and to drink some special tea at Neal’s Yard…

CIMG3153.JPG

CIMG4320.JPG

CIMG4416.JPG

to be continued tomorrow: 'The crown of my infatuation in London came with 2017 and visiting ‘The Pink Floyd Exhibition: Their Mortal Remains‘, described on internet as : ...'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45