Music Science: Earworms Part 1 - WHY??

in #music7 years ago (edited)

My sister @grottbags and I share something infurating in common; earworms. Often, the same earworms. But we're not alone!

In case you use another term, earworms are songs, tunes or beats that get stuck in your head, constantly. Often it takes a night's sleep to get rid of it, but even then you may wake up to the tune rattling around in there and you suddenly feel like death isn't such a bad idea.

WHY? Read on.

History

There is actually a british insect, the corn earworm, which is the larvae of a moth, *Helicoverpa zea*, that eats *ears* of corn.

The term 'earworm' comes from the German equivalent 'Ohrwurm' which is what they called Earwigs. After drying and grinding earworms up, they were used to treat ear diseases, and over time was Latinized, and through a kind of series of Chinese whispers, was described as 'worm that enters the ear', and then 'earworm'.

This term was then popularized by an article written by Stephen King of all people in the 1980's. So it's really quite a recent term.

But music has been around much longer than that, surely it got stuck in people's heads then, too? Centuries ago the term was in fact 'The piper's maggot', which I might start using from now on.

Involuntary Imagery

The professional term that nobody uses is 'Involuntary Musical Imagery', which struck me as an interesting term. 'Involuntary imagery' seems to be a fairly common thing in us humaans. How often have you found yourself thinking with a strong image or place or person in your head seemingly without any trigger?

It turns out about 30-40% of our conscious thoughts are involuntary. Why? That has yet to be answered for certain, but in one study it was found that there was a significant connection between involuntary memories and people who have a vocal stutter:

Significantly more stuttering participants than control participants indicated both recurrent imagery and associated memories.

Makes you wonder what George went through as a kid

Not only this, but the thematic nature of those stutter memories were full of anxiety, negative social situations, shame and sadness, usually based on events from their childhood. The more involuntary memories of these negative events, the more likely they are to have a stutter.

This struck me as connected to earworms since they are simply conscious thoughts brought to us involuntarily, too. Thankfully for researchers, around 90% of people get earworms at least once a week, so it's a pretty easy place to start studying.

Catch!

Now it might seem pretty obvious how songs get into our heads. Typically it's songs we like, or failing that simply a catchy song that's easy to recall. You may also be aware of songs that seem to attach themselves to a memory, so whenever you recall that memory, the song is dredged up with it, and vice versa.

I involuntarily experimented with this just now. I took a break to make a snowman since it is snowing here in Shanghai for the first time since I've lived here, 4 years or something. And I hadn't seen proper snow at all since about 2010. As I ambled past the busy roads, the song driving home for Christmas by Chris Rhea ended up in my head, and it's still there now, the same 15 seconds or so on loop.

This makes total sense. Snow is associated with Christmas, that song is associated with Christmas and cars, and it's a catchy song from my childhood.


What song does this trigger inside you?

But what makes a song catchy? Ol' reliable researchers got into this, too.

It was found that music with quite close musical intervals and long notes are quintessential features of earworms. When looking at thousands of earworms reported on the now deceased website earwormery.com, there was a clear pattern of long notes and small intervals in most of the songs there.

The Zeigarnik Effect

This effect, named after the Psychologist who studied it, Bluma Zeigarnik, states that people tend to remember unfinished tasks better than completed ones. Bluma noticed one time that a waiter had a better memory of orders that were unfinished to those that were complete. Experiments were built on this premise and suggests that the brain prioritizes incomplete tasks and throws away those that are complete. Earworms could be the results of being an unfinished task.

This has come under controversy over the years, with other researchers finding it hard to replicate, but it does fall in line with Lewin's Field Theory which states that a task already started goes through cognitive stress or task-specific tension, allowing easy access in the mind. This tension is then relieved upon completion of the task, shutting down that accessibility.

A Remnant of Learning?

It may seem that the Zeigarnik effect, catchy tunes and involuntary imagery come together to create an unimportant side effect to annoy you, but there's more.

Earworms could actually be a remnant of how we used to learn before writing existed. Passing information from one generation to the next couldn't have been on paper, but it could have been memorized by repetitive song which uses multiple senses and muscles, to rub it deep into our memories. Kind of like making a little chant to remind yourself to get your wallet, keys, phone, bag, computer and underwear before you leave the house. Or the alphabet song.

As a consequence, the brain has numerous ways to access that earworm; vision, audio, movement, even breathing if your brain somehow relates a diaphragm movement to a particular long note in a song.

How to Stop Them

This is the same kind of question as with hiccups. There's no surefire way, but there have been some interesting results over the years.

In some cases, they take the approach of the Zeigarnik effect, and by lisitening to the song, giving in to its power, you complete it and the tension is resolved.

In others, you can listen to 'cure' songs, songs thate replace the earworm, but are less annoying or less prone to stick.

Most interestingly, doing moderately difficult puzzles has shown to distract people just enough to get it out of your head. Easy puzzles won't cut it, because it doesn't take enough of your mind power. A puzzle too difficult will make you grow weary and give up, allowing the earworm to return.

A puzzle, especially a word puzzle (since most earworms are lyrical) needs to be just about hard enough to keep you busy, but easy enough to keep your attention.

Try it and let me know if it works!


Hint: It's only in ONE place

Part 2

I've noticed I still have a lot of tabs open on this subject that I'll try and organize into a second post tomorrow. There have been a lot of interesting research, and as you can tell from this post, there are several possible causes and effects to take into account.

but for now, thanks for reading!

DQmeJgsbM5K3pUC8kPBToDKRxE2gijUXvgvX6oUiBgaaiyk.gif

All images CC0 licensed

References: Earworm History, merriam-webster | Recurrent involuntary imagery in people who stutter and people who do not stutter | Zeigarnik Effect | Lewin's Field Theory | NY Times | Scishow

Sort:  

What a great topic!
I have many ear worms, which often come visit me.
Like the song "Mrs. Robinson" or Bob Marleys "I shot the Sheriff" and some German melodies. In particular those of childhood.
I compare my ear-sense with the smell-sense and the touch-sense and call it "body memory" - the strongest seem to have built up in my early years. So yes, I have made the same experiences you describe.

Once one has learned to ride a bike or to swim, this can hardly be forgotten again.

"The piper's maggot'" is a nice term but I will stick with ear-worm as this is my native tongue:)

The chain of associations you gave makes absolut sense- and shows that what I hear, touch, smell and taste is stronger when it is related to my outer environment. I also have a strong memory of Bachs composition "Toccata and Fugue" played on the Organ - awesome!!!
Don't listen to it, it will give you the greatest worm ever! :-)) - my very long relationship with a DJ awakens memories of him playing this peace on my electronic organ - a Yahama - which cost my parents around 3.000 Deutsche Mark back then.

people tend to remember unfinished tasks better than completed ones
I can confirm that for myself.

I think it has to do with my not making it into the mastery of composition of any kind related to music. No milage in practicing, no completed tasks.

In order to get rid of it: I would say the best way is to totally accept that they are there. Once the teeth are unclenched and mind relaxed, they'll disappear as they came.

"Zeigarnik" is just an insane name!! LOL!!

Woah thanks for the hearty reply! You are just full of Earworms! I checked to see if this was a sign of musical ability but there's no correlation, but there is with musical sensitivity in general so that's worth reading into!

Part 2 is out!

Okay @mobbs you have studied this thing very well and your representation is really nice one. The way you are writing the blogs and presenting the whole thing in front of us is really pretty and convincing.

Your KAYAK puzzle is puzzling me, haha. Keep it up. And lets earworm!

Haha Kayak! Almost impossible... glad you like what I do =)

I actually read earworm as earthworm. I hope I'm not the only one :)
It feels good to have that song you could relate to that somehow gets stuck in your read. You find yourself subconsciously humming or singing along when it comes on air. I think it's a good addiction as not every addiction is a bad thing.

Wait until part 2...you'll change your mind

Oh, I spoke too soon then :)
Let's wait for the part 2.

i allways try to listen to another song when i´ve an earworm, and then i´ve a new one. :D Amazing how you displayed this topic. You´ve got a new follower my friend!

Thanks! welcome aboard =D

Brilliant write up, I now actually have a name for that. There are songs that I have heard that keeps repeating itself in my mind. sometimes i find myself singing unconsciously. Nice article

Yeah, the weirdest for me is waking up with them... they're the worst because they can linger for days! Urgh. Glad you appreciate it anyway!

I like music.I always see your post .

I've been dealing with an earworm for the past week. It was super appropriate to read about it.

Also, I aced your puny little puzzle in like one sec...

:P

Lol wow! To be fair, looking for over one second would probably cause your brain to bleed, so nice try!

I don't know that habit even have a name thank you @mobbs for this big secret and a possible way out of it.
But your KAYAK puzzle almost boost my brain.
Form now on I will continue reading and upvoting your post.
Watching out for part 2

Everything has a name... Just check urban directory heh. Thanks for reading

I must say, this puzzle is really a hard one the crack. If not that I've seen @rocking-dave figure out the answer, I may have spent eternity trying to find KAYAK :)

Nice piece on earworms buddy

Rocking dave is WRONG, it has to be a straight line =P

Lol. That means I was also wrong :(

Lol.. Earworms, I have a lot of songs in my head. That's really common, sub consciously I just sing some songs and I'll be like hey, what you singing??

Let's wait for the part 2.. Even I myself has seen something worth doing in music now and I plan to post a video weekly. I started out yesterday..

Cool see you in the music tag =p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61068.10
ETH 2655.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58