Music Memoirs: Blood Master & Bones

in #music7 years ago

Skipping several years now to around 2012. I already had a couple of 'paid' movies and projects under my belt but I also enjoyed doing stuff for fun in free time. To be honest basically all my creative output was for fun at this point since my full time job would consume the majority of time that I couldn't dare pursue such time consuming projects, and I lived in Vietnam and didn't have any such connections anyway.

But here we have a culmination of the things I had learnt in the previous posts, refined and put into one track, basically. This came during a creative burst alongside another track called 'Blood Master', both of which were conceived and completed within a few days, with my visiting sister @grottbags lying around on the sofa as a visitor to the country.

Bones

There's several things about this track that I manage to impress myself with. For one, the pacing, but the raw power and energy that the whole piece builds to is possibly the most thrilling thing I've done to date without any context to work with.

To further impress, the way the climax cuts out and this piano, returning from the beginning cuts through the distortion and mayhem and forces a feeling of emptiness on you as the track ends, I think it was pretty neat.

At this point I had a lot more real software to give me a much more impressive soundscape to work with, though mixing those sounds is still somewhat underdeveloped.

Theoretically, I make use of a rather common thriller modality with the octatonic scale. This is an 8-note scale, compared to the usual 7, and alternates between a half-tone and whole-tone all the way up. This can be heard around 2:40, and appears throughout the rest of the track, including the climax. It's used in quite a rudimentary way, but effective.

Blood master

I would say this one is less complex, but more refined as a movie or game soundtrack. But no point adding more, just enjoY!

Sort:  

Wow dude what a tune. Reminds me of Final Fantasy like games.

I grew up on Final Fantasy so I guess that makes sense! Though it has nothing on Uematsu =(

3 posts in less than 24 hours? Pool reward rape much, very wow

I'll have you know I suggested to some bigger trailing folk to stop their trails for a few days while I get out this music mini-series, as to avoid such a thing.

I'm just that honourable

I was just kidding of course about the rape thing but I got to say I am almost impressed with your ethos!

Well it was a compromise between declining payout entirely so not entirely altruistic =P

Did I tell you I really suck at music? Well, yes I do :).
What's even an 8-note scale you talked about in your post?
Now I'm sounding like a Neanderthal from the stone age :)

haha nobody sucks at music on a philosophical lesson!

Most classical scales are 7 notes: A B C D E F G, or variations of those. This one just adds an extra in between =)

Thanks for the quick lecture :)

I agree with @chuckyfucky (the things you type on the internet) re: blood master, felt like I was playing Chrono Trigger again in a great way - Bones was straight up thriller central by the end - you could just insert that into the climax of the movie and it would drive the sh#t out of some action.

I didn't know you composed music - that's awesome.

I have been a musician most my life, it's my trade! Science is just a side-interest... I'm glad it has the desired effect on listeners though. I need to get back into it but steemit has kinda taken over my life lol...

You should totally get into it - and use steem as a motivational tool - dtube can be your experimental workplace. And maybe you should speak to @heymattsokol too - he's a musician who connected with @sndbox and got a six month incubation thing going with them - gets him a ton of support for music related posts.

I've no idea what incubation means in that context but sounds intriguing! I was thinking of doing a kind of live-creation video where I just press play on screen capture and see what music I come up with in, say, 30 minutes. But DTube is so slow, it took me several hours to upload a 6 minute video, only for it to weirdly refresh and disappear before I could post it... so I'm still pretty stressed thinking about DTube

Yeah steepshots also been a bit touch and go - but then do youtube or twitch and link it - that live stream sounds like a great idea

As i understand it you get in touch with @sndbox soomehow, and they give a ton of post support for like a six month period during which you create a lot of new music. Or something. I know mattsokol has been doing it and its been positive for him

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49